Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 August 2016, 04:10   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Anglia
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki DF20 EFI
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,679
>>>just how long is a piece of string

Indeed. Just checking my kit over the other day and my existing anchor line turned out to be just 20m rather than the "much longer" I thought it was so I've bought a new line of 35m plus 15m spare ready to clip on.

On a small/medium size SIB carrying a decent anchor and enough chain/rope for conventional larger craft anchoring theory is pretty impractical if it's a family day out boat with all the other personal kit that entails.

And area of operation makes a big difference. In a few days we'll be in a location where about 5mins from the slipway it's 34m deep.... and on one of our planned days out of just 5Nm 95% of the trip is in 30-200m depth. So you can only carry kit to hook ground on the very margins.

I will carry a drogue for this reason to perhaps steady the boat and give a little thinking time if there were problems in deeper water.
__________________

__________________
Fenlander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2016, 08:58   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South West
Boat name: SR Adventure 4.7
Length: under 3m
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 102
Do drogue / sea anchors work as an actual anchor ?
I guess they are only for rough weather to stabilise you and you still drift but at a slower pace ??


This one looks a reasonable price !
Drogue / Sea Anchor Orange with approx. 17mtr of rope | eBay
What size would be needed for a 4m rib


__________________

__________________
Fred. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2016, 09:13   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Anglia
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki DF20 EFI
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,679
>>>Do drogue / sea anchors work ?

Well they do what they do... which isn't really anchoring obviously.

I'm carrying one only as in a depth where anchoring is impractical they can give a degree of steadying to boat movement and heading if OB stops. Perhaps make any thinking time slightly more comfortable.

I've seen that guy list them before and it looks a cheap plastic rather than the usual stronger textured/woven nylon type material. Can't see if it has a hole on the small end either which it needs.

I'd buy one where the seller shows what size craft each is advised for.
__________________
Fenlander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2016, 13:32   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Boat name: Bombard, Y-162
Make: Aerotec 380, Y-Class
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury Mariner 15hp
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,535
I use the anchor that came with my Y Class (2 kg Bruce) + the lines I had from my grapnel previously so 2m of chain attached to 30m of line (8mm) and an additional 50m of 8mm ready to clip on if needed.
__________________
Max... is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2016, 15:46   #15
Member
 
MatFromPoland's Avatar
 
Country: Poland
Town: WARSAW
Boat name: T1
Make: HIGHFIELD OM540DL
Length: 5m +
Engine: EVINRUDE 115 HO
MMSI: 261026640
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonp View Post
Ive used just about every style on the market over the years, these days where I often anchor on reefs, shingle and sand all in one day and use sarca anchors. With these I can get away with double the holding power for half the weight, only problem is they can be a little expensive.Super SARCA Anchor - anchorright.com.au

Jon
Nice idea. You do not need to have 2 ropes.
Why it can not be implemented for normal Bruce anchor ...



>>>>>>>>>>>>

And really expensive ... Plus shipping to EU/UK from Australia
__________________
MatFromPoland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2016, 16:20   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Swansea
Make: HydroForce Nav Rapid
Length: under 3m
Engine: Johnson 4hp MY2000
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatFromPoland View Post
Nice idea. You do not need to have 2 ropes.
Why it can not be implemented for normal Bruce anchor ...



>>>>>>>>>>>>

And really expensive ... Plus shipping to EU/UK from Australia
You can set up a Bruce to trip with a cable tie

Click image for larger version

Name:	Anchor.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	114834

If it gets stuck, you can can break cable tie and then lift anchor from other end.
__________________
Mae pob ar y Môr
AdrianTurner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2016, 17:06   #17
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatFromPoland View Post
Nice idea. You do not need to have 2 ropes.
Why it can not be implemented for normal Bruce anchor ...



>>>>>>>>>>>>

And really expensive ... Plus shipping to EU/UK from Australia
I thought they had an outlet in the UK, if you watch some of the test videos they show how good they are in sensative areas such as on sea grasses etc. You don't need to go as heavy as they recommend either, mine has often held my 550 pro with a 7m + Gemeni tied to my stern. The Gemini owner has now also bought one
__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2016, 17:08   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Cardiff
Make: Avon
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 577
I keep looking at cooper anchors then running away at the cost...... Anyone here use one?

Look great but awkward to stow?
__________________
HDAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 August 2016, 00:52   #19
Member
 
MatFromPoland's Avatar
 
Country: Poland
Town: WARSAW
Boat name: T1
Make: HIGHFIELD OM540DL
Length: 5m +
Engine: EVINRUDE 115 HO
MMSI: 261026640
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianTurner View Post
You can set up a Bruce to trip with a cable tie

Attachment 114834

If it gets stuck, you can can break cable tie and then lift anchor from other end.
But you left some plastic the Sea.
This idea for Australian anchor looks better for me.
And it is really simple and probably effective.

3,5 kg or 5 kb Bruce with such solution be perfect for me.

@jonp - how big do you use for 550 open ? I saw not any offers except these from Australia.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

There are not any EU or UK distributors on the list:

http://www.anchorright.com.au/retail/distributors
__________________
MatFromPoland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 August 2016, 02:25   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Swansea
Make: HydroForce Nav Rapid
Length: under 3m
Engine: Johnson 4hp MY2000
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatFromPoland View Post
But you left some plastic the Sea.
Not shown in the picture I posted last night but .........

You don't need to leave any plastic in the sea if you use 2 cable ties of different strength, use the stronger tie to clamp a weaker one to the Bruce and then attach the chain using the weaker tie.

If it gets stuck, the weaker tie will break but the stronger tie will keep the weaker one attached to Bruce.
__________________

__________________
Mae pob ar y Môr
AdrianTurner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.