Old 22 July 2017, 14:35   #1

Town: Bristol
Make: Excel
Length: 3m +
Engine: 10hp outboard
Where to take SIB in/near Worcestershire

Hi guys,

I posted a question a few weeks back about getting a RIB and was advised to get a SIB to start off with, which I now have as of this morning! It's an Excel Vanguard 3.3m with a 9.9hp 4st outboard.

My question is where to take it in Worcestershire. I'm from Bristol but with my folks for a bit at the moment up here. I'm new to boating and, whilst I'm keen to do the RYA course when I've time, at the moment I'm itching to take it out! Was wondering if anyone knew of any inland water nearby - plus I don't fancy the Severn yet until I've a bit more experience.

Thanks, Rich
Old 22 July 2017, 16:54   #2

Town: Cardiff
Length: no boat
Not sure on the rules but plenty of canals if your happy pottering along at 4mph, https://canalrivertrust.org.uk/enjoy...rmingham-canal
Old 22 July 2017, 19:07   #3

Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF50
My experience with a canal was not good. Submerged items, shallow depth, murky water you can't possibly see if it's safe but usually they are quite silted which gets sucked into your engine scoring your water pump innards. Then there was the floating weed for the water intake and general scum which was messing the tubes. I had to stop and detangle a plastic bag from the prop (tip- carry a knife).

Fortunately I was able to turn around after 1 minute at West Stockwith and head off through the lock and up the Trent which was daunting because of recent rainfall but after a few minutes we were totally settled. Having the anchor and oars at the ready and heading upstream, I knew if there were any engine problem I could always get back.

I looked on boatlaunch.co.uk to find the best place near to us. And I didn't want to be a newbie messing with locks every few miles so I chose a tidal part of the Trent.
Old 22 July 2017, 19:24   #4

Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15