Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 August 2011, 11:47   #21
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Pooler, Georgia
Boat name: not applicable
Make: Avon
Length: 3m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 156
I am a little late to the game as usual, but we mounted a portable Hummingbird for our grandson. The transducer is on a 3/4" x 1 1/2" board which may be clamped to a transom in the area of least turbulence.

We fashioned a battery box which uses (8) AA batteries from Radio Shack battery holder 270-407 or 270-387. Snap connectors either 270-325 or 270-324 are connected to the power cable from the depth finder. The battery set along with a spare set of batteries are in a plastic freezer box, and is portable. You would be surprised at the number of hours of use the AA cells give. The battery holder and snap connectors set us back a whooping $6 with tax.

We went with the AA's so we have no use for a charger and cannot forget to charge the batteries before a trip. Not to say we have ever forgot to do the charging before
__________________

__________________
frankc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2011, 14:24   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: macclessfield
Boat name: Reach Out
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp Tohatsu EFI
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 301
I love the fixed ruler.....
__________________

__________________
simsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 October 2011, 22:49   #23
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: oregon
Boat name: .
Make: zodiac GR mkIII
Length: 4m +
Engine: johnson 40
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31

cavitation plate looks kinda low, but the zodiac store says its fine by nice-diver, on Flickr


what I came up with, stays in the water even when up on a plane, manual says to mount it on the right side
__________________
nice.diver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2011, 14:15   #24
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: GTA
Boat name: Zodiac
Make: Zodiac Futura MkIII
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 HP ETec Tiller
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 201
My Humminbird 3D worked beautifully on my old boat, without speed tubes. I could scan the bottom nicely while planing at 15 mph. On my Futura the speed tubes are exactly where the trailer bunks sit on yours. Can't get a decent bit of flat water anywhere behind the transom except at dead slow. I'll post pics soon.
__________________
Northern Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2011, 10:21   #25
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: GTA
Boat name: Zodiac
Make: Zodiac Futura MkIII
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 HP ETec Tiller
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 201
I've made a stern plate out of ABS so that I can mount my transducer without marring my transom, like my mast mount on the port side. I've been experimenting with transducer height as shown here, but I'm not pleased with the outcome. Can't get a position which allows me to scan on plane.



This is the setup I made for my old boat about 12 years ago. It has served me well.
The boat was rope start with no battery. The mount is made from ABS plumbing pipe like that shown on the right of the first pic.
There's ample room underneath to store excess cables and accessories, etc.









__________________

__________________
Northern Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.