Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 04 March 2010, 11:28   #11
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
My Achilles 14 had an electric start motor, so the battery was there anyway. I had a tractor and garden battery (basically a large motorcycle battery, I think) as the primary. Never had a problem with electrical supply.

For those without a charging circuit, you could do the same as the guys running trolling motors: use a removable battery (size would be up to you), and charge it remotely after a days use.

I would guess that, for, say, a GPS and a fishfinder, a small battery would give you a run time well beyond what you're normally going to need for a days use (multi-day trips may require a little more thought.)

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2010, 18:21   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Ryde
Make: barrus
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
How about/

I seem to remember having an old lowrance and i'm almost sure, the transducer could be mounted on the inside of the hull. Anyone know if that's right. If so you could just hold it against the floor, simple's
__________________

__________________
long1jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2010, 03:55   #13
Member
 
Peter_C's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Boat name: Uh...a kayak?
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,485
For future reference I did a lot of research on mounting my transducer for a sonar/depth finder unit. I have a Garmin 420 chart plotter/sounder, mounted on a Zodiac Futura MKII HD 4.2m. The conclusion, from an extensive information search, is the transducer needs to be mounted on the starboard side to stay out of the turbulence created on the port side by the propellers rotation. Mine is mounted fairly close to centerline, and below water line at planning speeds, which is also why it is closet to centerline, the lowest point of the hull.

The results of the depth sounder I am happy with. Once in a while it loses depth, but only for a few seconds in rough water, which is expected since the the entire boat will often come completely out of the water.

As to a battery, I do believe no matter what you decide to use the marine laws, at least in the US, require a marine approved battery box. I have a small Hawker Odyssey AGM mounted on the starboard side in the rear. Since I needed a battery to run my GPS might as well toss an electric starter on the motor, and love having to only hit a button for a second to fire up my outboard
__________________
Peter_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2010, 14:16   #14
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Camarillo, Ca
Boat name: Plan B
Make: Achilles
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 30hp
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Peter_C, How deep into the water is your transducer? I just mounted mine, like you explained, and the transducer going through the water shoots up a stream of water about 3-4 feet. Does that happen to yours? Could you add a pic of how you have yours mounted?
Here's some pics of mine:

Thanks,
Matt
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0028.jpg
Views:	711
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	49871   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0029.jpg
Views:	964
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	49872  
__________________
mmgarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2010, 19:45   #15
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: oregon
Boat name: .
Make: zodiac GR mkIII
Length: 4m +
Engine: johnson 40
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31
there should never be fear of a silly question

my boat has a 40 electric start so there is always a battery
__________________
nice.diver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2010, 00:12   #16
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmgarrett View Post
Peter_C, How deep into the water is your transducer? I just mounted mine, like you explained, and the transducer going through the water shoots up a stream of water about 3-4 feet. Does that happen to yours? Could you add a pic of how you have yours mounted?
Here's some pics of mine:

Thanks,
Matt
I reckon you're a bit too deep with that as the mounting bracket is protruding into clear water below the hull. As long as the transducer body is in the water it should be fine.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2010, 05:12   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Angel-B
Make: Ex Y boat
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki 9.9HP
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmgarrett View Post
Peter_C, How deep into the water is your transducer? I just mounted mine, like you explained, and the transducer going through the water shoots up a stream of water about 3-4 feet. Does that happen to yours? Could you add a pic of how you have yours mounted?
Here's some pics of mine:

Thanks,
Matt
The blurb with my (not yet fitted) Garmin transom mount transducer specifies the bottom of the transducer should be 10mm below the bottom of the transom, so I think you could bring yours up a bit.

Cheers

Chris
__________________
chris123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2010, 12:34   #18
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris123 View Post
The blurb with my (not yet fitted) Garmin transom mount transducer specifies the bottom of the transducer should be 10mm below the bottom of the transom, so I think you could bring yours up a bit.
These instructions are written for hardboaters. That one, in particular, is saying that the transducer face needs to be in clean, smooth, non-aerated water, at a depth which is generally found when mounted that far below the transom. That will differ for boats that run at different attitudes or those that get lift from points other than the hull (as is apparently the case with whoever said their transom was mostly clear of the water at speed.) I'm not saying that their instructions aren't accurate or won't work; just that a) SIB's and RIB's don't always work the same as a glass center console, and b) the directions are a starting point for fine tuning.

My earlier suggestion to play with positioning and height prior to mounting stands.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 August 2011, 09:14   #19
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: GTA
Boat name: Zodiac
Make: Zodiac Futura MkIII
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 HP ETec Tiller
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 201
Hi, Found this old thread doing a search. Time to revive it.
I'm pondering a transducer installation on my Futura, but the speed tubes create a lot of turbulence in the area. Anyone out there had that problem/found a solution?
Thanks.
__________________
Northern Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2011, 14:25   #20
Member
 
Peter_C's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Boat name: Uh...a kayak?
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmgarrett View Post
Peter_C, How deep into the water is your transducer? I just mounted mine, like you explained, and the transducer going through the water shoots up a stream of water about 3-4 feet. Does that happen to yours? Could you add a pic of how you have yours mounted?
Here's some pics of mine:

Thanks,
Matt
Your transducer is set too deep. I am in process of moving mine due to adding wheels, but I only had a small amount of water spray off the transducer, and never into the boat. Mine was mounted about 10mm below the transom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Pike View Post
Hi, Found this old thread doing a search. Time to revive it.
I'm pondering a transducer installation on my Futura, but the speed tubes create a lot of turbulence in the area. Anyone out there had that problem/found a solution?
Thanks.
Never had a problem with the speed tubes, but I am moving mine out a couple of inches towards the starboard side to clear my wheel leg, so it might be a little bit before I get to test it. Having a depth sounder is really nice. A GPS is even nicer. Adding charts is the bomb!
__________________

__________________
Peter_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.