Old 24 September 2013, 21:29   #1

Length: 3m +
What Size Engine?

We have been out in our Honwave T35 and are very impressed with it. Four up (2 adults/2 kids) with all our kit and a 20hp 2 stroke on the back it goes really well.

However it has dawned on me, if we decide to do a bit of river cruising this engine is going to be too much. It will spend all its time just above tickover straining at the leash!

The question is, how small can we go on the engine before we have problems going against currents?

I have no experience in this area and would welcome any comments.

Many thanks,

Harvey.
Old 24 September 2013, 21:35   #2

Town: Fort William
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F115
RIBase
Go for a 20hp four stroke?

It'll happily sit there all day on idle saying nowt and gently sipping away at your fuel.

I've got a Honwave with a Honda 20 on it, best of both worlds.
Old 24 September 2013, 22:02   #3

Town: St Helens
Boat name: Wine Down
Make: Maxum
Length: 8m +
Engine: Inboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by A1an View Post
Go for a 20hp four stroke?

It'll happily sit there all day on idle saying nowt and gently sipping away at your fuel.

I've got a Honwave with a Honda 20 on it, best of both worlds.

Nooooooooooooooooooo. 4 strokes good, 2 strokes better

(On a lightweight sib )

The OP doesnt say if its an Autolube engine, but IMHO with Yamaha's it really doesnt matter. Either autolube or running 100:1 it will be fine, if its a really old one on 33:1 or 50:1 then run it a little lean when you are on the river.
Old 25 September 2013, 05:31   #4

Town: Glasgow
Boat name: snagglepuss
Make: Shetland
Length: 6m +
Engine: 90 hp Outboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Landlockedpirate View Post
Nooooooooooooooooooo. 4 strokes good, 2 strokes better

(On a lightweight sib )