Old 14 January 2014, 14:45   #1

Town: N/E UK
Length: no boat
Viewing Inflatables.

I'm not new to boating, but new to SIBs.

Not wanting to jump in and buy the first one available, I want to see them first hand up close. I live in the Northeast of the UK just outside Newcastle/Durham, and wanting to know if any member could recommend dealers up this way where I could have a look around before making my mind up.

Something around 3.5m-4m, and a 9.9 engine, just wanting it for holidays and fishing. Been looking at the Honwaves and Tohatsu engines, though the price of engines I'll have to save a few quid up first.

SS.

Old 14 January 2014, 15:59   #2

Town: England
Boat name: boat
Make: Zodiac Cadet340Activ
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Mariner
Hi

I'm very new to all this so very limited advice, but I did research before buying & there are various options:-

First thing is what is your budget?

I spent 1400 for an "as new" Zodiac 340 Acti-V and a Mariner 15hp motor, bought separately & both have had very little use. The key to this is not to rush in, it took me 3 months to find mine and only found the motor last week.

Air Deck vs hard floor? The first is a little more expensive but much easier to transport and store, the trade off is hard floors will generally allow you to use a larger motor should you wish to later, air decks are also more comfortable and lighter.
From what I have read, the Zodiac is also lighter than the Honda and Yamaha equivalents.

There are loads of reviews of most available boats online but I found limited stocks to see in dealers, especially the larger sizes, you could also look around local boat yards & marinas to see what's being used as tenders? Most folk are happy to show you & offer some words of wisdom.

Old 14 January 2014, 18:09   #3

Town: N/E UK
Length: no boat