Old 06 May 2014, 19:53   #1

Town: Maidstone
Boat name: na
Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: outboard 25p 2stroke
VHF radio course

I'm new to all this, see my previous post, I'm aware that I need insurance and think that flairs/first aid kit/repair kit are all a good idea.

I have also thought about a radio, stayed pretty close to shore so far but would like to go further afield as my confidence grows.

Is it a legal requirement to do a course ?

Is there anything else I should have ?
Old 06 May 2014, 22:42   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanKent View Post
I have also thought about a radio, stayed pretty close to shore so far but would like to go further afield as my confidence grows.

Is it a legal requirement to do a course ?
You need to do the course / pass the 'exam' to use* a VHF radio. You also need to register the radio with Ofcom.

Quote:
Is there anything else I should have ?
You'd be wise to do an RYA powerboat level 2 course which will teach you the practical skills as well as the theory / good practice / etc.

*You can use one under the supervision of a qualified person or in an emergency without being qualified yourself. Accordingly most people here would suggest that you should carry a VHF even before getting trained - but bear in mind that the first time you use for real is not the time to learn how!
Old 06 May 2014, 23:30   #3

Hmmmm!
I have done the VHF radio course and personally thought it was a load of tosh!!
At the end of the day all the coastguard needs to know is where you are, what is the nature of your emergency, boat size, persons on board etc - all common sense stuff.
All of this info is included in. basic VHF training manuals.
All the course served to do is fine tune your radio etiquette!
If you don't want to stand out like a sore thumb that you are untrained, carry a laminated aide memoir card to keep the info you need fresh in your mind.