Old 01 January 2012, 22:58   #1

Town: Towcester
Boat name: N/A
Make: Honwave T35
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda 20hp
Transporting Motor

Hi,

I am new to Ribs and have a Honwave T35 and a Honda BF20 outboard.

I am looking into getting a trailer but am unsure whether to get a bunked boat trailer (e.g. from Extreme trailers) or a box trailer and add my own bunks (which I have seen at least one example of on here).

I have read that it is not advisable to transport the boat on a trailer with the outboard attached. I don't like the idea of transporting the outboard in the car, partially for space reasons.

Are there any options for mounting the outboard separately on a boat trailer ?

Alternatively has anyone else modified a box trailer to take a similar sized boat (so that the outboard can go in the trailer) ?

Many thanks,

Dominic
Old 02 January 2012, 01:24   #2

Town: LONDON
Make: SR4/ZODIAC/3D
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30T/40T
Fit a strengthened plate to your trailer to act as a transom would and mount your outboard to that. So either the car-end or the lightboard-end (front or back!) of your trailer box could hold your outy as your boat would. The engine would be exposed but I would imagine that would only be for the journey and would ultimately help come unloading.
Damned good idea actually..........why haven't I done that?
Old 02 January 2012, 03:54   #3

Town: oregon
Make: zodiac
Engine: M40C
I've always transported my outboard attached to my inflatables transom while on the trailer, with absolutely no ill-affects (two 20hp on previous sibs, now a 40hp tohatsu). Just be sure that the transom is fully supported by the trailer and the motor is left down (not tilted up) unless you use a transom-saver support. If you are going to go with a trailer, no sense taking the motor on and off. The sibs I have towed that way: achilles, dynous, bombard.
Old 02 January 2012, 08:23   #4

Town: N. Devon
Boat name: (Not Another) Nutkin
Make: Highfield
Length: 6m +