Old 11 July 2013, 01:55   #1

Boat name: WB465
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 2013 ETEC 30
Trailering: Cover on or off?

My 4.65 m SIB will be put on a trailer in the next few days, and I've never done this before.

Are rock chip punctures an issue, or do they just bounce off, as the dealer informed me?

I'm told not to trailer it at highway speeds with the boats protective cover on. Apparently it wasn't designed for that (even though it's called "Trailerable" - I kid you not) and it billows out, can tear, or come off. I don't like the idea of the boat exposed to the sun and elements at highway speeds without any kind of protection. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
Old 11 July 2013, 02:57   #2

Town: Winnipeg
Make: Zodiac Futura Mark 3
Engine: 40Hp Yammy 4stroke
Hi Projectile,

In the winter I trailer snowmobiles and only leave the covers on if the roads are slushy and salty and sanded. This stuff flies up on the sleds and ruins the aluminum and is a problem to clean up when it's freezing out.

I plan to by a fitted cover for my Zodiac but I won't be trailering with it. The covers flap and rapidly wear, soon tearing at the stress points. Unless it is fitted drum tight I expect you won't get much life out of the material. The sled covers are a denier polyester, tough stuff but wears out when flapping down the road. Just my thoughts
Old 11 July 2013, 03:50   #3

Town: British Columbia
Make: Gemini
Engine: 40hp 2 str
I've got a project in progress along these same lines. I sometimes drag my boat & trailer through some forestry roads/trails. I want to provide some protection to the boat fabric from twigs & branches of saplings that encroach on these roads.