Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 May 2014, 13:11   #1
Member
 
lockieboi's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: kent
Boat name: SIBotage
Make: Prowave
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2 smoke
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 435
Sonar mounting.

How do people mount their fish finder sonars to their SIBs?

I was just going to mount the unit straight to the transom but wondered if there was a better way and if this would be deep enough.

Any ideas?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByRIB Net1401037905.367920.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	94966
__________________

__________________
lockieboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2014, 13:57   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Boat name: Bombard, Y-162
Make: Aerotec 380, Y-Class
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury Mariner 15hp
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,692
I wouldn't ever drill the transom if you don't have to, cable tie it to an existing fitting or fashion something or Sikaflex a fitting that can be removed adding a safety line too in case it fails.
__________________

__________________
Max... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2014, 14:45   #3
Member
 
lockieboi's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: kent
Boat name: SIBotage
Make: Prowave
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2 smoke
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 435
My second thought was fixing it to a bit of plastic conduit and then fixing that to the bracket for the launch wheels.
May have to assemble the SIB tomorow and have a think.
Any other thoughts?
__________________
lockieboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2014, 17:15   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 813
There's a lot of reluctance on the forum about drilling into the transom.
If it's done properly and sealed with sika flex you need not fear.
If it was me I'd drill and affix with stainless screws.
Job done!
No faffing around with brackets and lanyards etc.
Yours looks like the sonar detaches from the holding bracket - this will aid packing the sib away.
__________________
kaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2014, 18:12   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oop North
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 323
Here's how I did it on the Zodiac;

Fish finder on a 3.9m inflatiblr

my mates is mounted on a pole which fixes to the transom with 2 suction pads.
__________________
stray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2014, 19:02   #6
Member
 
lockieboi's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: kent
Boat name: SIBotage
Make: Prowave
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2 smoke
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 435
I'm not worried to much about drilling the transom, I have sikaflex but will this fitted to the transom be deep enough in the water to work?
Stray yours looks like a good option too, could you give me a bit more info on how you made it and some pictures to would be great.
__________________
lockieboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2014, 21:30   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 813
Here's a pic of mine mounted to the transom.
It's a Garmin unit.
The instructions state to mount so that the sonar unit protrudes 10 - 15 mm below the lowest edge of the part of the transom to which it is mounted.
Mines works a treat as depicted.
Can be easily removed leaving just the small mounting bracket permanently affixed to the transom.
An old cloth duct taped over the bracket protects the sib and the bracket itself from damage when the Sib is deflated and packed away.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1401067794696.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	94990  
__________________
kaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2014, 23:32   #8
Member
 
Peter_C's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Boat name: Uh...a kayak?
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,485
Mount it on the starboard side away from prop wash. Personally I have no problems drilling holes as long as they are sealed. Below is my setup. My sonar unit is flipped up to clear the trailer straps. I have a very busy transom.

__________________
Peter_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2014, 04:50   #9
Member
 
lockieboi's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: kent
Boat name: SIBotage
Make: Prowave
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2 smoke
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 435
Thanks for the pictures guys.
That looks like the simplest option, I think I'll go with that.
__________________
lockieboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2014, 05:09   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Essex
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter_C View Post
Mount it on the starboard side away from prop wash. Personally I have no problems drilling holes as long as they are sealed. Below is my setup. My sonar unit is flipped up to clear the trailer straps. I have a very busy transom.

Prop wash, what is that? I have mine on the port side and works ok until going fast, when it breaks up a bit. Could this be why? Should I get a perfect read even at 20 knts? Making me wonder now. Thanks
__________________

__________________
The Bass Stalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.