Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 December 2015, 14:17   #1
Member
 
Stigomery's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambridge
Boat name: SIBylle
Make: Honda Honwave
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda BF20
MMSI: 235915576
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 407
Pump switching to HP almost immediately

I've just taken receipt of a new Bravo BTP12. Great bit of kit, however, it keeps switching to piston mode after only a few seconds of low pressure filling. I've tried switching off and on again but it repeats the same thing. I've tried moving the tubes around so there is air space around the valve and various other methods but all result in the same almost immediate switch to high pressure...

Any thoughts?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Stigomery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 15:02   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
I suspect that you are not using the correct connector - resulting in the valve not being fully open, but rather being opened by pressure buildup. One to play around with....
__________________

__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 15:31   #3
Member
 
Stigomery's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambridge
Boat name: SIBylle
Make: Honda Honwave
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda BF20
MMSI: 235915576
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 407
By Jove you're right. I just compared the HONWAVE adaptor I bought with the pump with the original Honwave connector supplied with the boat and the adaptor I bought does not have the central pin to depress the valve...

Sheisters!
__________________
Stigomery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 15:42   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
If it's any help (and I AM on a roll here) the pressures in that system are very low and adaptors and hoses can be held in place with duct tape products. I prefer Gorilla Tape, but I'm picky. I expect that you will be able to use the original adaptor or modify the new one.
__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 15:45   #5
Member
 
Stigomery's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambridge
Boat name: SIBylle
Make: Honda Honwave
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda BF20
MMSI: 235915576
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 407
Yeh, I'll come up with a system. I actually use the original on an air bed pump so I can pump up 2 tubes at once

I might just lock the valve open until it reaches near inflated and then let the HP pump do the final work until I find a more permanent solution.
__________________
Stigomery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 18:03   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fulham
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 25HP
MMSI: 235914577
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks for this good tips, mine next
__________________
Firstrib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 18:41   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Anglia
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki DF20 EFI
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,279
Yes and in addition if you are in the habit of having an inline dial type gauge on the end of the hose and it has a rubber flap non-return valve that extra restriction can trick the pump into going to HP mode too soon. Another reason as you wondered about is when the boat is totally flat the valve can be sitting on the fabric below creating a seal that puts the pump immediately into HP so you just need to pull the valve up an inch to allow the full LP fill.

For the Honwave in particular I bought a genuine Honwave pump blue hose that came with the OE connector and connected this hose as an extension to the Bravo one that's a bit short anyway.
__________________
Fenlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 18:45   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fulham
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 25HP
MMSI: 235914577
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 201
Hi Fenlander, does the Bombard 380 state the pressure on the valves, I haven't unpacked the boat yet, will use BST HP pump on Saturday. If not, can you let me have the pressures for the various tubes?
__________________
Firstrib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 19:10   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Anglia
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki DF20 EFI
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,279
It seems on the newer ones thay have not fitted the tube tabs (near the valves) printed with the correct pressure, just to the HP floor.... but if yours is older they should be there for tube & floor. Your instruction book if you got one will tell you but it is...

240mb tubes and 800mb floor sections.

If you didn't get a book I can let you have the important pages as images.
__________________

__________________
Fenlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.