Old 21 January 2010, 13:52   #1

Town: stockport
Length: 3m +
prop upgrade for tohatsu

hi, does anybody know if you can change the prop on a 18hp tohatsu 2 stroke (2007)to obtain a bit more speed for towing inflatable toys etc. i have a bombard aerotec 380 and was thinking of upgrading the engine to 25hp 2 stroke. my only worry is the weight difference as we transport the boat and engine in the car, also i dont think my back would take the strain. does a stainless steel prop perform any better or is it just the pitch. many thanx.
Old 21 January 2010, 14:23   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Quote:
Originally Posted by uny1965 View Post
hi, does anybody know if you can change the prop on a 18hp tohatsu 2 stroke (2007)to obtain a bit more speed for towing inflatable toys etc. i have a bombard aerotec 380 and was thinking of upgrading the engine to 25hp 2 stroke. my only worry is the weight difference as we transport the boat and engine in the car, also i dont think my back would take the strain. does a stainless steel prop perform any better or is it just the pitch. many thanx.
It may be possible to improve performance via your prop - but really you need to know:

Current prop size.
Current max revs at wide open throttle.
Max recommended revs for engine.
Gearbox ratio for engine.
Current max speed at wide open throttle.

Is it really speed you are lacking or acceleration?
Old 31 January 2010, 09:32   #3

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by uny1965 View Post