Old 18 August 2019, 16:54   #1

Town: Rijeka
Length: no boat
One more "which SIB" question 😁

Hi guys,

I'm new to boating and currently looking for a boat that will suit me and my girlfriend. I would really appreciate if you more experienced people would help with some advice.

We live in Croatia and want a small sib/rib up to around 4k euros without engine. I don't have high hopes in getting rib for that money, at least not new.
I hope to get something that can be well matched with tiller outboard 20-25hp. I will probably ho with Suzuki DF20 or DF25 if necessary.
I was thinking buying SIB, but boat will be on a trailer so it very well may be a rib also.

I plan to use it all year round for fishing, primarily slow jigging on the drift in 50-80m deep areas. My fishing spots are 5-10 miles out in the bay, sometimes up to 5 miles out on open sea.
During the summer I will trailer it along our coast and use it to visit secluded beaches and island hopping.

I would like a boat that can comfortably plane with 200-220kg of people/gear.

My knowledge on SIB and small RIB brands is weak.
So far I was looking at whaly 435, quicksilver 420 alu rib, honwave t40...
I'm all over the place. This will be our first boat so I have no real clue what would fit us good.
All I kniw is that we want new and are not afraid to spend some extra money on quality. My first instinct was Zodiac Cadet RIB but they charge stupid money for it.

What sib/rib and size would you recommend me to look at?
What do you thin about mercury/quicksilver ribs with tiller? Anything better for me?
Old 18 August 2019, 17:46   #2

Town: Edinburgh
Boat name: Excel Chalanger
Make: Highfield 380 Excel
Length: 4m +
Engine: 25 Yamaha 25Suzuki
MMSI: 235919522