Old 12 January 2006, 00:31   #1

Town: colorado springs
Length: no boat
Newbie asking advice

I am really new to boating of any kind. I live in Colorado and would like a small portable boat that I can haul either on top or inside my Jeep Cherokee. The waters on the high mountain lakes here can be unpredictable and go from no waves to 3 foot waves and winds over 30 or 40 miles an hour in no time. I was thinking a small rib like a Zodiac zoom 300 SR might fit the bill but I talked to a dealer today on the phone and they steered me towards a non-rib Zodiac with the Futura Hull I think it was the Mark IIC. Any opinions or advice would be appreciated. I would mostly be using it to fish from but of course if it was fun and fast that would be nice also. The only dealer we have in Colorado that I know of is in Denver and I doubt they have much experience with this kind of boat so I don't think I have any one local to ask advice from.
Thanks
Wyomoose
Old 12 January 2006, 04:50   #2

Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
I have a Quicksilver 310 sport which is a similar boat fitted with a Suzuki 15hp 4 stroke outboard. It will do 20mph and hardly uses any fuel. I have taken it out on the open sea several times and it's great fun and very safe - even with 3 people sitting on one side the boat is stable.

If you don't need the ability to roll the boat into a bag then a fibreglass hull will make the boat even better - better performance and a softer ride in the waves.

Whatever boat you get fit transom wheels that swing up either side of the engine - they are brilliant!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0263 (Small).JPG
Views:	244
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	16935   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0188 (Small).JPG
Views:	258
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	16936  
Old 12 January 2006, 12:06   #3

Town: Surrey
Boat name: ocean pro 6.3
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp suzuki