Old 25 August 2014, 16:57   #1

Town: london
Length: 3m +
New sibber, advice and recommendations

Hi all,

Ive just bought myself a 3.5 alu honwave with a 15hp yamaha outboard and trailer.
Ive just passed my RYA powerboat level2 and vhf course, i also bought a vhf/gps radio.

I live in east london and I would like to finally take my sib out. Im hesitant about taking it ou on the thames because i took my rya course on the thames and it can get really choppy i dont think the sib wouldnt be able to handle it.

Ideally i would like to take it to the beach were i can do a bit of fishing with a pal. My closest beaches are southend, brighton and camber sands.

Im just not sure what the limitations of my sib are and where i should/should not be thinking of launching, any advice or recommendations would be great! [emoji6]
Old 25 August 2014, 17:18   #2

Town: Sticks, N.Yorks
Boat name: Tamanco
Make: Honwave 3.5AE
Engine: Tohatsu Outboard
Hi Seasure & welcome to the forum. I've no experience of your neck of the woods but have a similar setup with a Honwave 3.5 + 20 hp Tohatsu.
Your best friends in my limited experience are common sense & the weather forecast ! We rarely go out in the sib when it's not going to be enjoyable with rough weather/seas imminent but the whole family love it when it's calm. None of them enjoy being tossed about & prefer the hardboat when it's anything over 2ft waves & even then the Mrs soon gets twitchy when I start wavejumping.
We rarely go more than a mile off shore with our sib and always take all the basics oars/radio/phone/lifejackets/anchor plus plenty of petrol. You soon get in on the plane but if it gets rough you soon halve your speed.

Happy boating
Old 25 August 2014, 17:42   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by paddlers View Post
Hi Seasure & welcome to the forum. I've no experience of your neck of the woods but have a similar setup with a Honwave 3.5 + 20 hp Tohatsu.