Old 17 June 2017, 19:57   #1

Town: Tiptree
Boat name: Orville
Make: Honwave
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda bf6
Minimum HP to fight the tide.

Hello.

I'm a new one to all this. I've been saving up for a Honwave T-38 or T-40. I'm still undecided and I've read the numerous posts and pros and cons of each.

At the same time I've been saving up for a 20/25 hp outboard.

My intention is to take it out on coastal waters from the River Blabkwater in Essex. However my little boy said tonight "I don't think we'll ever have a boat" as I've been saving for about 2 years so far.

So to get me on the water I'm thinking of buying a boat and a smaller outboard.

Tohatsu do a 3.5hp for £600. Would this be enough to "fight the tide" of shall I go for a 6hp? Or carry on saving for a 20?

ATB.

Dan
Old 17 June 2017, 20:39   #2

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: Suzukidf70 2x6lp 315
Why not look for a used 15 or 9.9 to get you on the water you might need to stretch the budget a little or wait for the right one to turn up. There was a 15 sold on the forum here for £450 so they do crop up in budget
Look in the bits and pieces section and you will see the now sold engine the new owner just started a thread today about their first trip in their new honwave
Second hand doesn't always equal unreliable and the boat will be far better with something bigger than a 3.5
Old 17 June 2017, 20:48   #3

Town: Sussex
Boat name: Bombard
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Mercury Mariner 15hp
Totally, don't buy new and spend years saving. You can't buy the time back! Plenty of superb typical ideal SIB outfits around for £1500 or less, ie 3.4m boat and 9.8 or 15 engine. Check the SIBs on eBay topic for endless examples flagged up for sale.

Lots of SIBs are barely used and will soldier on for ages as will the simple 2 strokes.
Old 17 June 2017, 21:26   #4

Town: Cardiff
Length: no boat