Old 24 July 2018, 17:04   #1

Town: Reading
Boat name: JALSA
Make: Honwave T32IE2
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda BF6
Maiden Voyage- Adventure, Stupidity and Lessons Learnt

Hi All,

Thought I would put together a few lessons learnt from my failed maiden voyage this past Sunday; hopefully as a helping guide to other complete newbies like me or even as a reminder to myself during future trips.

Lesson 1- Write down a list of items that you intend to carry and ensure you have everything before you set off from home.
I did have a list and had packed the car the night before barring a few things but did manage to forget some key items (for example launch wheels) as in the morning I felt too excited and overconfident about my packing. End result- 2 trips back home, costing me a good 60-75 minutes, thus delaying the boat launch.

Lesson 2- Check how busy the waterways will be on the day of your trip to be better prepared mentally.
My boating is mainly on the Thames river and although I had checked the weather, stream alerts, river draughts, lock closures etc., I realized much later that the day I chose for my maiden journey coincided with the British National Open Marathon Racing Individual and Team Championships – one of the country’s biggest canoeing events, which was being held in Reading. This was not a big deal but tackling hundreds of serious looking kayakers competing to be as fast as they can be and rowing left, right and centre of the river can be a bit daunting; especially if this is your first self-boating experience in your whole life.

Lesson 3- Get back to the bank/moor/hold on and secure the boat after launch to deal with last-minute checks, safety and a deep breath before you fire the engine. Also to remove the transom/launch wheels!