Old 20 November 2012, 15:15   #1

Boat name: ShaarkBait
Make: Zodiac 3.6 FR
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 9.9 4-stroke
Launch wheels suitability

I'm looking for some launch wheels for my new Zodiac 3.6m Fastroller.

I like the look of these. the way that that the wheels fold up flat to the transom and ease of use really appeals. But I cannot see anyone selling or using the, in the UK and wonder if there may be issues. The only reference that I have seen to them is someone on here implied that they were too big.

Not sure if fixings would interfere with the inflatable floor - I'm new to inflatables so have not really learned what is to avoid and what is ok. Not made any easier by the awful Zodiac manual.

Also, they do a alternative PU tyre. What is the advantage of that - non pneumatic? Any disadvantage?
Old 20 November 2012, 18:08   #2

Town: Hampshire
Get the ones with a curve in the shaft so when they are up they hang back over the transom and when they are down they go under the boat supporting it. I think Pacer Marine sell them. They have big tyres which helps alot when pulling the boat over uneven ground. Avoid small wheels and overcomplicated designs if I where you. I have used this setup for the last 3 years with a Zodiac FR 3.4 and 9.8 on the back.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/INFLATABLE...item5d249de128

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Lg-Folding...item5d23b5ecb2
Old 20 November 2012, 18:47   #3

Pacer Marine is my local and I discussing wheels with them yesterday. I have not liked any of the wheels that I have seen there but I'm not sure that I have seen the ones you link.

Still like the ones that I linked though. Don't think the wheel seems too small as they are 260mm which should be ok for my main need which is rolling 100yards from inflation point to slip across hard surface.

Will ask about the ones you mention next time I am down. I cannot work out from their image how they work.