Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 30 July 2013, 17:06   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 118
Ideas for a transducer mount?

Until now my transducer is attached to some ali ducting which I clamp to the transom each trip. It works well but now that I've upgraded my fishfinder to a Raymarine Dragonfly with an 8" transducer (yes 8" long!!) it is too big for this system to hold in place securely.
Does anyone have any other ways of fixing a removable transducer?
__________________

__________________
Flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 July 2013, 17:11   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Greatham, Hampshire
Boat name: Sandy Alex
Make: sr4
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki 55dt
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 96
i have the dragonfly which seems to be a great unit.. i have it on a 2ft long 2" by1" gclamped to the transom until i find the perfect place as so far anything like 10mph or over i dont get depth readings... it will take a few attempts to get it right... then i will screw to the transom as per the instructions (but in my placement).
__________________

__________________
gridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 July 2013, 17:15   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 118
Good to know that someone else has the dragonfly. What boat do you have it on?
__________________
Flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 July 2013, 17:29   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Greatham, Hampshire
Boat name: Sandy Alex
Make: sr4
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki 55dt
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 96
hi, sr4.... i havent plumbed it in properly yet but will do over the next couple of weeks.
__________________
gridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 July 2013, 18:55   #5
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Australia
Boat name: none
Make: JP Marine 3.8 Patrol
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 18hp 2stroke
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 69
I also have purchased the Dragonfly. I havn't mounted it yet but was hoping to fix it to a 50 x 30 ali RHS and clamp it to the transom. I notice in the instructions that the location of the transducer is dependant on the direction that the prop spins.
I am interested in users comments on the depth of water that they use the Dragonfly. I am hoping that mine will work in 180 - 360 ft.
What size battery are users using. I have an 18 amp h.
__________________
seasdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 July 2013, 01:43   #6
Member
 
The Gurnard's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Stirling
Boat name: The Gurnard
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: mariner 25hp 2s
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyguy View Post
Does anyone have any other ways of fixing a removable transducer?
Yup.. I do ..the photo explains better than I can in words. I have a few boats and only one fishfinder..so I made the attachments for each boat..including my inflatables. Its made from left over "Plastic" used from making windowsills and the likes. Available from any decent DIY store.

The transducer is mounted onto a "tougue" piece which just slots into the attachements on each boat.. if that makes sense. You can make it far smaller if you wish but I wanted to be able to slide mine up and down without getting my hand wet. At full down..the transducer is in the correct position just below the transoms.

Some "experts" will tell you to mount it on the opposite side to avoid prop disturbance. This may or may not be true..however Im no expert. I have used this set up for a number of years and I get no prop interference at displacement speeds. Perhaps doing 25 knots or so might make a difference.. but when I go that fast..im not interested in finding fish

__________________
The Gurnard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 July 2013, 15:30   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 118
Good idea Gurnard. I don't have a lot of room on the transom of a zodiac so I might just have to bite the bullet and drill a couple of holes in it. Then use some ali strip to attach the transducer so that it can be taken off. Really like your slide in setup though.
__________________
Flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 July 2013, 15:46   #8
Member
 
millplus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: lincolnshire
Make: prowave 420
Length: 4m +
Engine: 15hp 4st / 6hp 4st
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 51
I mount my transducer using one of these small dint puller/sucker thingies
Bit of stainless plate and a few stainless nuts and bolts

Had it up to 18 knots and it aint come off yet ,
you can get bigger ones than the one i use



PS like your slidy mount gurnard



__________________

__________________
i didn't know what happiness was like till i got married
now i dont half miss it !!!
millplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.