Old 26 September 2018, 22:40   #1

Town: Sammamish
Make: Zodiac
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yahama F40
How to get Zodiac Futura MK II HD to plane with 40hp outboard

Hi

I am new to inflatable and just purchased a Zodiac Futura MKII HD with Yahama F40 outboard. The first time I ran it in a lake, I was gradually increasing throttle but at around 20%, the bow tilt up so much that I thought it might flop over. I had the motor trim down to the lowest point.
I contacted the dealer. He told me I need to increase throttle more and bit more faster to get over the hump so the boat's bow will drop and plane. So how fast and how much should I increase the throttle? Is flipping really a concern if I trim motor down to the lowest point? Any experience to share with a first time boater here?

Thanks
Old 26 September 2018, 23:11   #2

Town: California
Make: zodiac futura
Length: 4m +
First put weight up front. Gas can or a fat buddy. If your boat is setup light and your alone you move forward as much as you can and hit the throttle.
On my mk2 futura I have seats mounted just back behind the center line. A 12 gal gas can behind. When I hit the throttle I hit it hard and then pull back once I get to the speed I want. The only time bow rise is a problem is if I’m going into the wind and it catches the bow.
When my seats were further back bow rise was a huge problem. But my boat has seats, storage box under them, 12 gallons of gas and spare prop, anchor and tools. A light boat will launch with a 40hp once balanced.
Once I get going fast I prefer trim being moved up till I start ventilating the prop then back down a touch. I have hydraulic trim. With trim up it softens the ride a bit but as much the center keel front lifts out and it’s feels more stable.
You will need to find the sweet spot perhaps second hole.
Old 27 September 2018, 11:59   #3

Town: Lincolnshire
Boat name: Mousetrap
Make: Zodiac Cadet 310S
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 4 stroke 9.9