Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Inflatable boats - SIBs and folding RIBs
Click Here to Login

Old 11 July 2011, 20:57   #1

Boat name: Zed
Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: Evinrude 15HP
Hi, a little advice please for complete novice

Hi all, completely new to boating but after spending quite a bit of time in the Lake District last and this summer i decided to buy myself an inflatable for use mainly on the lakes and the odd run out on saltwater.

I bought an old Hypalon Zodiac Zed (1980's) that can take a max 10hp motor that has a transom of 15".

The person i bought the boat off was also selling an Evinrude 15hp long shaft in pristine condition at a price i couldn't refuse. The weight isn't an issue as the 15hp Evinrude weighs the same as the 9.9hp now i know mounting the motor on this size transom will cause some issue's (not to mention the extra 5hp in power!) so im wanting advice on the following really

Should i:

a) Sell the motor and buy a short shaft

b) raise the transom 5" using marine ply bolted and glued to existing transom to lift the motor

Will raising the transom create any issues with handling etc and also would the extra 5hp be dangerous?

Many thanks, Zed Head
Old 11 July 2011, 22:49   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
I would be tempted to just stick it on and live with it!

If you are planning to use it in the lakes then a 10 mph speed limit will prevent you getting too keen with the power anyway.

I suppose there might be too much back pressure in the exhaust from being too deep - but I doubt on a sib with an ickle engine you will notice. To my mind raising the transom is a whole heap of potential problems that then puts the bigger thrust on the end of a bigger leaver. Put it as high as the mounting screws will let you - and possibly stick some 1" timber in any gap - but screwing and gluing is probably unnecessary.