Old 08 October 2017, 01:02   #1

Town: kansas city
Length: 4m +
Greetings with Questions

Good evening gents.

I picked up a 1994 zodiac mk2 grand raid as my first inflatable. Should have read more before buying however I am new to this and learning as I go. I have since discovered that one or more baffles have issues. It does have the interconnecting valves.

The previous owner told me he always just inflated until slightly firm. From reading on here, that is too soft. I picked up a NOS bombard mbar gauge off eBay but am having troubles trusting it. I am using a zodiac foot pump and the guage is showing around 1.40psi and these tubes are very firm.

I have three questions that I can't seem to find the answers on Google for.

1) can someone illustrate just how firm these tubes should be? If I put my fist into the rear cone, I get about 1/4" of deflection. Gauge shows 1.5psi which the transom says it should be 3.4. I worry my gauge is wrong.

2)i can get the left tube, the front left and front right to equalize on pressure but not the right tube... even with cycling all the valves 360° to try and find a happy spot. Edit: was able to cycle valve to a sweet spot and it inflated the left.

3) can anyone confirm that the foot pump is not capable of doing damage to these tubes pressure wise ? Or is the foot pump capable of 10psi for example?

Thank you in advance for any help.
Old 08 October 2017, 01:31   #2

Town: S. Carolina
Boat name: D560
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2016 Merc 115hp CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by brveagle View Post
Good evening gents.

I picked up a 1994 zodiac mk2 grand raid as my first inflatable. Should have read more before buying however I am new to this and learning as I go. I have since discovered that one or more baffles have issues. It does have the interconnecting valves.