Old 08 October 2018, 19:27   #1

Town: Rode
Make: Excel volante 330
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 9.9 2018
Fitting transom wheels

My excel 330 arrived today, I want to fix my transom wheels this weekend, Im new to this so need some advice, could anyone tell what silicone is best to use ? Do I only need to put silicone on the nuts and bolts? Or do I need to cover back of bracket with it? My transom wheels have come without instructions, so not sure where to drill holes, is there a special position to fix brackets? Height? Width? How far away from the tubes Don't want to mess this up.

Thankyou
Old 08 October 2018, 23:15   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Do you have a photo of the transom wheels you have and of the transom... it would help us give advice.
Old 09 October 2018, 06:58   #3

Town: Ipswich
Boat name: Click and Collect
Make: Valiant and Narwhal
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Combat View Post
My excel 330 arrived today, I want to fix my transom wheels this weekend, Im new to this so need some advice, could anyone tell what silicone is best to use ? Do I only need to put silicone on the nuts and bolts? Or do I need to cover back of bracket with it? My transom wheels have come without instructions, so not sure where to drill holes, is there a special position to fix brackets? Height? Width? How far away from the tubes Don't want to mess this up.

Thankyou
Look at a Product called CT1 you will not find better
Old 09 October 2018, 09:19   #4

I wasn't sure but I've just checked a data sheet to confirm CT1 is OK for salt water and it is, primarily a builders do everything sealer/adhesive. The usual forum advised product for sealing anything on a boat is Sikaflex.