Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 September 2013, 17:30   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Fish Finder for inflatable

Hi,

I have a Honwave 40TE and am looking for a suitable fishfinder. Any suggestions from someone with a similar setup?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
yebaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2013, 17:33   #2
Member
 
henryfreston's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thornbury
Make: Avon Searider 4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp tohatsu tldi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 648
You want something nice and small that won't use much power, a black and white lowrance x4, nice and cheap.
__________________

__________________
henryfreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2013, 18:30   #3
Member
 
lakelandterrier's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucester
Boat name: Lunasea
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzi 140
MMSI: 232005050
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,126
There's a plastimo that you can either fix with perm transducer , lead & plug or use with float & trailing wire.

Used this on my A400 with Velcro t omount on console - could use the same on tube
__________________
Member of the Macmillan Round the Isle of Wight Club
lakelandterrier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2013, 18:41   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakelandterrier View Post
There's a plastimo that you can either fix with perm transducer , lead & plug or use with float & trailing wire.

Used this on my A400 with Velcro t omount on console - could use the same on tube
Thanks. That sounds like what I want. Do you know if you can buy separate transducers for them? (then I could use it on my GRP boat as well)
__________________
yebaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2013, 03:26   #5
Member
 
The Gurnard's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Stirling
Boat name: The Gurnard
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: mariner 25hp 2s
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 986
Hi Yebaws

Before deciding on the model or price range to go for.. perhaps its best to get an idea of the capabilities and the functions on fish finders so you can better choose one that will suit your fishing requirements. Any fish finder can be used in an inflatable boat.

Example..the Plastimo 300 will not see the bottom of Loch Etive never mind find a fish. (Loch Etive is one of Scotlands most popular sea fishing lochs )

Its too deep.. it goes down to 400ft at places and is sea water.

From the spec of the Plastimo 300..it will show the bottom at 150ft ..although I suspect this will be in fresh water and not salt water..I also doubt if there will be any definition at that depth ..but having never used one ..I could be wrong.

Here is a good web page that tells you about the different things to look for..so you can match them to your fishing requirements..

Read it and you will be in a better position to decide the best type for you.

How To Choose A Fish Finder | Fish Finder Source
__________________
The Gurnard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2013, 05:06   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Gurnard View Post
Hi Yebaws

Before deciding on the model or price range to go for.. perhaps its best to get an idea of the capabilities and the functions on fish finders so you can better choose one that will suit your fishing requirements. Any fish finder can be used in an inflatable boat.

Example..the Plastimo 300 will not see the bottom of Loch Etive never mind find a fish. (Loch Etive is one of Scotlands most popular sea fishing lochs )

Its too deep.. it goes down to 400ft at places and is sea water.

From the spec of the Plastimo 300..it will show the bottom at 150ft ..although I suspect this will be in fresh water and not salt water..I also doubt if there will be any definition at that depth ..but having never used one ..I could be wrong.

Here is a good web page that tells you about the different things to look for..so you can match them to your fishing requirements..

Read it and you will be in a better position to decide the best type for you.

How To Choose A Fish Finder | Fish Finder Source
Thanks for that link. Very useful info. Yes, I want to get something that will actually do what I need, but I'm also looking for something that is small and won't need a 12V battery to run on, which isn't too practical in an inflatable.

Fishing in salt, but probably not below 50M...
__________________
yebaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2013, 08:10   #7
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Tralee
Make: Tornado / Zodiac 3.1
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yam F60/ Tohatsu 9.8
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 71
I have a Garmin Echo 150 portable. This unit is contained in its own bag with small rechargeable battery and the transducer is on a suction cup but I have it fitted to a rod which clamps to the transom. Very well made unit and works well
__________________
boilermaker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2013, 13:35   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oop North
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 323
Quote:
but I'm also looking for something that is small and won't need a 12V battery to run on, which isn't too practical in an inflatable.
It's not a problem, just make a transom mount, then you can take the fish finder off quite easily.

You might just be able to make out mine in this picture.


The battery is housed in a waterproof container fixed to the mount.

By the way the Fishfinder is a Lowrance Elite 4 DSI and it's for sale, it's about 4 months old and in mint condition. 120 plus postage (probably about 10). I'm only selling it because I've upgraded to an Elite 5 HDI.
__________________
stray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2013, 17:04   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by stray View Post
I'm only selling it because I've upgraded to an Elite 5 HDI.
How is the Elite 5 HDI? I have the Dragonfly but really liked the look of the HDI. Does it do logging like the Elite 7?
__________________
Flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2013, 17:57   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oop North
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 323
Yes you can log the SONAR and upload it to Insight Genesis to produce detailed maps, at a price. Pity I can't get hold of of the Dr Depth program.
It the same as the Elite 7 HDI only with a 5" screen.
It's a nice piece of kit.
__________________

__________________
stray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.