Old 06 April 2019, 02:49   #1

Town: Sarasota, Florida
Make: Saturn
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 9.8 HP
First Inflatable Boat Setup

Hi everyone,

I'm a college student looking into getting into inflatable boats. I'm interested in something around 11' in length that can cruise at 25 mph or more. Currently I have my eyes set on a Saturn SD330 (https://www.boatstogo.com/inflatable-boat-sd330.asp) since it seems to be the best selling.

Saturn also makes the SD360 which is a lot cheaper than the SD330 but it offers the option of air floor or aluminium floor while the SD330 only offers a rigid air floor. Which one is the best? I assume the higher price of the SD330 means a more solid air floor but I'm not entirely sure.

I will be the only occupant on the boat and I don't fish so I'd have a cooler for drinks at most.

For outboards, I was going to go with a Yamaha but since they're quite heavy, I have decided to go with Tohatsu. The dilemma is that the Tohatsu 9.9-20 hp all weigh 95 lbs and I would like to get a 20 hp model for the SD330, but I'm afraid of overpowering it. On the other hand, if I'm gonna lift 95 lbs, I might as well get the most powerful model. The boat is rated for a maximum power of 15 hp (125 lbs).

Thanks for reading.

Adam
Old 06 April 2019, 07:42   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Hi Adam and welcome to the forum.

Re your speed aspirations and OB power... broadly speaking 25mph would likely be a maximum speed you'd see with a 20hp so cruising at that speed with any OB choice open to you is unlikely.

Around 18mph would be a realistic cruise with perhaps 25mph seen as a maximum.

If it's just you and a cooler box a 15hp will be quite lively... but your comment is sound that if the transom is rated for it get the larger hp for a given weight.

David
Old 06 April 2019, 17:02   #3

Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF50