Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 August 2011, 12:49   #1
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Make: Bombard Aerotec
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 15 hp -78
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Faulty Bravo BST Batt?

Hi all
I just got a brand new Bravo BST HP Batt, and I wonder if there's something wrong with it. The battery doesn't seem to get charged.

It worked well out of the box, but I have not been able to recharge it. At least that's how it seems, since it wont start more than for a few secs when I press ON, and if there's any pressure it turns off, the piston mode won't start.

So now I wonder, can I connect it to a car battery 12V instead, or has it got too much ampere (I don't know anything about electricity...)?

If I do so, I expect that I have to remove the battery and put some crocodile jaws on there. Any ideas why it's not working properly, am I doing something wrong?
__________________

__________________
Patrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 12:57   #2
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Are you sure it's not turning off because it needs to? What are you trying to inflate? If it's through a valve, is the valve open? At this stage I would be assuming the pump is good and what you're trying to inflate is the culprit.
__________________

__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 13:53   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: herts
Make: avon searider/bom380
Length: 4m +
Engine: merc 50 2 stroke
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 260
does it run when its not connect to the boat , when you put slight resisitant over the outlet pipe does it switch to second mode
__________________
Dino89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 14:31   #4
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Make: Bombard Aerotec
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 15 hp -78
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dino89 View Post
does it run when its not connect to the boat , when you put slight resisitant over the outlet pipe does it switch to second mode
No it turns off even without the hose...

How is it supposed to act when the battery is low?

On the first charge from the factory it ran great and pumped the floor and all crazy stiff. Like it a lot. However, since it kinda discharged (or at least got very weak, it's not completely discharged) it hasn't inflated almost anything.
__________________
Patrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 14:45   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
Patrick, The charger that came with mine failed with in days.Now using a12 v 500 mah wall charger that you can easily get on line, just solder the connector over if reqd , the batteries in your pump are used for starting model aircraft and so the batteries and charger are available from thos type of places.they cost around 10 uk pounds and a replacement battery around 20.00
I got mine from Machine mart do you have a equivalent type of store, (garage and DIY store) ?
__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 14:50   #6
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Make: Bombard Aerotec
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 15 hp -78
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Hm I will take a look, we have a couple of huge and cheap places like that. I saw something about the car charger getting done in just 4-5 hours, while the wall charger takes 12 hours. Why is that? something about ampere?

What do you mean by solder the connector? You mean that I should take it from the car charger and put it on the wall charger?
__________________
Patrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 15:19   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
patrick, cut the connector off the old charger (the end that slides into the pump) and re solder or rejoin the connector onto the new charger.
you want a trickle charger, NOT a 4-5 hour car charger, 500 milliamp max trickle charger!!
__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 15:48   #8
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
What's brand new here...the battery or the whole pump?
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 16:11   #9
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Make: Bombard Aerotec
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 15 hp -78
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Everything is brand new, I've only used the pump once on it's initial charge. I understand now that I could put the connector on another charger.

But why don't I want the car charger that came with the pump? :o isn't it good that it charges fast?
__________________
Patrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2011, 16:16   #10
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrik
Everything is brand new
Then don't cut anything, solder anything, connect it to any other charger or fit any non-Bravo parts unless you're happy invalidating the warranty.

If you're convinced the pump is faulty - and you haven't convinced me it is - take it back from whence it came for repair or refund.
__________________

__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.