Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 30 January 2019, 06:01   #1
Member
 
Steve on sheppey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Isle of sheppey
Boat name: Kayak hybrid
Make: Sun sport
Length: 3m +
Engine: Outboard petrol
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Do you use a fish finder?

So I'm going from my trident kayak over to my newly acquired sun sport hybrid, the kayak had a hummingbird fish finder fitted, as I've potentially sold the kayak without the finder, thought I'd mount all the hardware on a plastic box, but where to put the transducer ?
I'm thinking somewhere around the transom, anyone else use one, have pictures how they did it
__________________

__________________
Steve on sheppey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2019, 13:09   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,566
here you go
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0640 transducer diagram.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	103.1 KB
ID:	128369   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0641 transducer diagram.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	128370  
__________________

__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2019, 17:57   #3
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 809
Here in Aus most people mount them where it shows in the bottom photo, in the U.K. many people mount them inside the hull shooting through it. Mine is mounted externally and holds bottom at my cruise speed of 40kmh in 300m of water. I do pick up bottom in 700m using the 50khz but 200khz holds better at speed in waters less than 300m.
__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2019, 02:24   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Maybole
Boat name: Greylag
Make: AVON Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard Petrol 70hp
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 20
Hi JonP, May I ask which unit you have as I need to upgrade to a new unit from an old Eagle as I get the refurbished RIB ready for a spring relaunch please? Cheers Iain
__________________
IainK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2019, 06:26   #5
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 809
I've use Lowrance hds units for around 10years+ and currently have a gen 3 12 inch screen. The smaller 5 hds also picked up in deep water and at speed etc, the more resolution the screen has the better they show fish, hence the big screen.

These days most manufacturers are very close in what they make in the way of Sou dears and plotters in my opinion. What I like about my unit is that it's Ne now more like using a phone for intuitiveness. Personaly I've found hummingbird to be the trickiest to work through the menus.

Lowrance, Simrad, Garmin and raymarine are the most popular here. I prefer navionics charts even though I believe they have been bought by cmap.

Which ever make you decide to go with, there are normally a heap of help videos on YouTube to help get to know how to use them.
__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2019, 06:45   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,566
pic of my setup showing the transducer which is screwed in place you can have it on a G clamp off the transom or some do a strap around the tube but i'm not a fan of that system of course with solid hulled boat there's hull mounted and shoot through
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0644.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	169.6 KB
ID:	128373  
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2019, 15:48   #7
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 809
It's hard to see from that pic but it looks like itsmounted quite low. I have mine virtually flush with the hull with a slight tilt forward ( screwed to the hull where yours is ).
__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2019, 16:01   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonp View Post
It's hard to see from that pic but it looks like itsmounted quite low. I have mine virtually flush with the hull with a slight tilt forward ( screwed to the hull where yours is ).
No mines the same jonp it's a skimmer transducer ideal for Sib'S ratchet kick up bracket
__________________

__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.