Old 31 August 2016, 12:42   #1

Town: Sheffield
Length: no boat
Comparisons?

Hi All,

Newbie here...

Been on here a fair bit over the last few weeks finding out relevant information before I decide which SIB to go for.

Previously had an old C-Craft when I was a little kid (Grandads old diving boat) + a Mariner 4HP 2STK and my farther had a few speeds boats over the years but I seem pretty out of touch with the whole 'Brand' market.

My questions:-

I'm currently looking at the Mercury/Quicksilver 365 XSHD... - Looks the nicest (daft I know) but also comes with a pretty decent warranty and the brand seems very reputable from previous experiences.

Firstly, Whats the quality like with these in PVC - I'm not wanting to go crazy and spend a fortune but up to circa 2k for the boat is OK.

Secondly how do they compare to the following :-

Excel Vanguard 360 - Seem to have pretty good reviews on here but terrible customer service.

SeaPro 380HD - Look well but i have read some horror stories on here so slightly put of now.

Inmar 380SR - Look well but i can only find them in the States...

And other similar boats i have missed?

I see a lot on here like the Bombard Airotec, which i do like but i'm slightly drawn more towards the solid floor for comfort with my little lad + gear.

I know similar questions have asked before but i cant really find much on the Mercury boats compared to any of the above.

Thanks.

Edit: I understand the Mercurys have slightly thicker rubber also.
Old 31 August 2016, 13:20   #2

Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
RIBase
i have a mercury 365 hd its the new quicksilver 380 with shorter cones on still giving the same space as the 380.