Old 03 July 2015, 13:11   #1

Length: no boat
Choosing first boat+engine (Remote steering or Tiller?)

Hello everyone!
I'm in the process of choosing a small light sib and I'm currently looking at the F-Rib's and the Aerotec 380. I have selected a 20HP Suzuki 4 stroke as it's light 44-47KG and now I'm a bit unsure if the setup should be for remote or tiller control. I'm a noob so excuse me, but it seems like when I have bought the engine it's very hard to change afterwards if i choose the wrong setup.

What are the pros and cons to remote steering? I have found a simple add-on to the A 380 like the attached.

Is such a system durable? What is needed on top of this? how many cables and so on.

I like the idea about such a minimal setup as I hope it will still be lightweight?
And is it easy to dismount from the engine?

Is the engine fixed put in a fixed trim position or is the trim also managed remotely (sorry for my ignorance)

I'm going to use this boat for simple fun and cruising with 2 adults and two small kids.

Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1400-933-2677-r.jpg
Views:	440
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	106577  
Old 03 July 2015, 13:26   #2

Town: Redditch
Boat name: Hydra
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: TWINS
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByRIB Net1435929770.875587.jpg
Views:	718
Size:	72.9 KB
ID:	106578 I run the same system in my 380 sib and I love it, jumps on plain quicker as you are near the bow so makes for better performance from boat. I set and dismantle ever time as it Goes in my boot. Take me twenty miners to set up with using my bravo pump. HatedClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByRIB Net1435929990.284723.jpg
Views:	346
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	106579 the tiller steer. Enjoy

Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
Old 03 July 2015, 13:38   #3

Awesome boat! And thank you for the info!