Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 19 July 2011, 05:00   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Anglia
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki DF20 EFI
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,276
Bolting on a 15hp outboard?

Does anyone bolt on their 15hp to their SIB? Never bothered with a 10hp but the 20hp on my GRP boat was always bolted on. Wonder where a 15hp falls in this?
__________________

__________________
Fenlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 05:03   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancashire
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 87
I dont think so, iv got a 30 on mine and its only on thumb clamps, seems to hold well & hasnt moved when attached. Itd be a bugger to take off if its bolted
__________________

__________________
LWman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 05:09   #3
Member
 
T 15's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Bangor, Co Down
Boat name: Ribeye & Tremlett 15
Make: Ribeye & Tremlett 15
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha F40, Merc 500
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 265
If not bolted on, then make sure you have a rope/wire attached from outboard & transom with not too much slack, so if the outboard does work loose then it will not fall into the water.
T 15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 05:46   #4
Member
 
kubcat's Avatar
 
Country: Australia
Town: Sydney
Boat name: Lunasea
Make: Ribtec 890SX
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yamaha ME 421STI x 2
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 470
I use a bolt with a wingnut as well as the clamps on my 20hp. If the clamps get loose, the motor moves a bit to warn me to retighten.
__________________
kubcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 05:56   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancashire
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by T 15 View Post
If not bolted on, then make sure you have a rope/wire attached from outboard & transom with not too much slack, so if the outboard does work loose then it will not fall into the water.
Thats a good way to protect your investment, i think ill have to do that myself! 8-)
__________________
LWman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 08:43   #6
Member
 
m chappelow's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Length: 3m +
Engine: tohatsu
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,310
i have never bolted an engine on , even up to a 40 hp ,but i have always had some form of teather should it come loose so that it wont fall overboard ,some peeps tie the clamp handles together as most if not all have a hole through them ,some engines have a hole in the casting for using as T15 said a cable or rope to a strong point .
most engine manuals state that some form of teather should be used .

once saw a brand new engine slip off a transom when the driver put full lock on , it just twisted its self off .
had he had some sort of rope tied to it he could at least have retived it ,once heard of a swivel parting on an old engine leaving the clamps still in situ but dont know if it was true,
__________________
m chappelow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 08:51   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Anglia
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki DF20 EFI
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,276
I always use a tether something like my current one...



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

The Mariner manual says the tether should either be so short the outboard can't rise off the transom or long enough that it can come off and stop due to the kill cord then hang below for recovery.

Their worry at anything in between is that the outboard comes off at speed, keeps running, and powers into the boat.

I've gone for the long option as I thought the very short rope could still allow the outboard to skew round with the prop cutting through a tube end.

Suitable bolt/s with large wing nut so no spanners needed sounds worth looking into.
__________________
Fenlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 14:36   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Ebbw Vale, Gwent
Boat name: Seabay
Make: Avon, Bonwitco
Length: 3m +
Engine: 4,25,35 Johnsons
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by kubcat View Post
I use a bolt with a wingnut as well as the clamps on my 20hp. If the clamps get loose, the motor moves a bit to warn me to retighten.
Top Tip ! Thank You
__________________
Seabay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 15:56   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ...on the Thames
Make: Quicksilver 340
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 15hp
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
until I read this thread I've never bothered bolting my 15hp and it has never moved....

...but I reckon I'll be doing something about that after reading this
__________________
saltyseadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2011, 16:22   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Littlehampton
Boat name: Rib
Make: Avon
Length: 3m +
Engine: Jet
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 92
Think of using bolts also as a theft deterant.

My 25hp has two M8 stainless bolts through the second set of holes. It has the normal thumb nuts too, but means that no one is going to nick it without a couple of 13mm spanners, not quite as wasy as just the thumb nuts.
__________________

__________________
www.rarms.co.uk
rarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.