Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 19 January 2011, 15:17   #11
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Quebec city
Make: Zodiac hurricane
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
10 Amps at 12V max draw. Possible with a lighter socket wired for high current. Have to check the socket in question to be sure. I'd also assume that with the max rating at 10 amps, the nominal current draw would be substantially less: 6 to 8 amps or so.

jky
The BST 12 model that inflates up to 11,7 psi is rated at 15-20 amps, wich is too high for regular 12 volt cigar lighter socket. This is why they sale it with "grips" instead of a male 12v adapter.

http://www.scoprega.it/pdf/pompe/pom...ic%20pumps.pdf
__________________

__________________
Boulet Lemelin Yacht inc.
1125 boul. Champlain
Québec QC G1K 0A2 Canada
educhesne@blyacht.com
achille2124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2011, 11:13   #12
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Fair enough. I stand corrected.

I think I was working off a resellers list of specs.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2011, 10:47   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hazlemere
Boat name: FEEFO
Make: Bombard Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Outboard Mariner 25
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 68
cheers guys i've just ordered one!

http://www.marinemegastore.com/produ...jump=0&cat_id=

Managed to get an extra 10% off as a first order so £114 all in!
__________________
Bongy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2011, 11:48   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: Bombard Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Twahtzoo 20hp
MMSI: 235906188
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bongy View Post
Hi I am looking to buy a high pressure air pump to inflate my Bombard Aerotech 380 with the inflatable hull
I just picked up my aerotec 3.8 last Saturday, she's a beauty!

Tried 2 different guages with a foot pump but gauges are next to useless.

has anyone any experience of the bravo 6 stirrup pump + gauge?? Its looking good for 20 odd quid.

http://www.stearns-inflatables.co.uk...pressure-gauge

If the gauge works I'll be happy using one of these.

If none of these types of gauges work then I suppose I will have to get something like the Bravo superturbo 12 HP pump.
__________________
squiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2011, 02:34   #15
Administrator
 
John Kennett's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 6,829
I haven't tried the Bravo stirrup pump, but I use the Quicksilver version and it does a good job.

It's double action, but you can switch to single action to get the floor up to pressure, and it has a pressure gauge.

Having said that, your boat should really have come with a pressure gauge, but it's quite small so may easily have gone missing. They may be available as a spare, so it's probably worth giving your friendly Avon/Zodiac/Bombard dealer a ring.

Actually, I had a look and Rib Shop sell a gauge that looks very similar and should do the job for you.
__________________
John Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2011, 04:23   #16
Member
 
Nick Hearne's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bucks
Boat name: Blue & Ding Dong
Make: Ribeye,SR4 & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115,50 & 15Hp Yams
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by squiddy View Post
I just picked up my aerotec 3.8 last Saturday, she's a beauty!

Tried 2 different guages with a foot pump but gauges are next to useless.

has anyone any experience of the bravo 6 stirrup pump + gauge?? Its looking good for 20 odd quid.

http://www.stearns-inflatables.co.uk...pressure-gauge

If the gauge works I'll be happy using one of these.

If none of these types of gauges work then I suppose I will have to get something like the Bravo superturbo 12 HP pump.
I have bought just about every type of pump & the last & most expensive was a Bravo BST 12 HP & I wish I had just saved my money & bought this one first, for the Bombard it is excellent I tend to use my battery pack/jump starter I have to power it! It will make setting it up a doddal as you can be setting up the boat as the pump dose its job just switching off when it reaches its correct pressure
__________________
Nick Hearne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2011, 08:43   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: Bombard Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Twahtzoo 20hp
MMSI: 235906188
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kennett View Post
I haven't tried the Bravo stirrup pump, but I use the Quicksilver version and it does a good job.

It's double action, but you can switch to single action to get the floor up to pressure, and it has a pressure gauge.

Having said that, your boat should really have come with a pressure gauge, but it's quite small so may easily have gone missing. They may be available as a spare, so it's probably worth giving your friendly Avon/Zodiac/Bombard dealer a ring.

Actually, I had a look and Rib Shop sell a gauge that looks very similar and should do the job for you.
John, thanks very much for the info - I did get 2 gauges with boat but neither does very much, if anything. One of them is inline - which I used to check airdeck floor, doesnt go anywhere near 11.3psi with continued pumping so stopped as i didnt want floor to explode on me.

I may be using it wrongly. A pump with integral gauge should work a treat. And if that QS has worked on your aerotec then I shall give it a go!!! Wanted to hear from someone else with aerotec so I am convinced! Only a few squids anyway.

Nick - thanks, I know exactly what you are saying and will certainly get the bling bling superpimp auto pump eventually but just now a manual pump will suit our needs better for the moment. Also i am about to buy the SH HX851E vhf/dcs handheld jobbie anyday now - and thats not cheap along with course fees!!!

cheers guys!
__________________
squiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2011, 14:28   #18
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Make: Bombard Aerotec
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 15 hp -78
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Can you measure the pressure when pumping with the foot pump? What's that gadget called?
__________________
Patrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2011, 14:32   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: herts
Make: avon searider/bom380
Length: 4m +
Engine: merc 50 2 stroke
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 260
just buy the pump then buy a sealed lead acid battery min 7.2 amp and charger works out cheaper
__________________

__________________
Dino89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.