Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 November 2015, 04:49   #1
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Boat name: Commando C4
Make: Bombard
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP M25C3
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 100
Aerotec with remote steering: cable-management

Now that I have remote-controls on my Aerotec, I have to run cables and wires to the back of the boat:

- Steering
- Throttle
- Gear (F-N-R)
- Killcord wiring
- Tacho wires

Has anyone come-up with some smart cable-management ? I was looking for some sort of sleeve to keep the cables together. Any thoughts ?
__________________

__________________
piotr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 November 2015, 05:43   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: no name yet
Make: Still building it..
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 hp
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 582
Kitchen waste pipe.. and pipe clips all plastic.

or larger guttering down pipe and clips
__________________

__________________
Sonar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 November 2015, 05:53   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,573
i used pond pump pipe very cheap & strong various diameters because its ribbed it can be difficult to thread so the best way is to stretch it out no bends push a rod through with a threading rope i use a conduit threader made for the job.
you can just see it under the paddles going onto the console


cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0655.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	165.0 KB
ID:	109705   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0654.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	152.4 KB
ID:	109706  
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 November 2015, 09:25   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Silverton, Oregon
Make: Bombard Commando C4
Length: 4m +
Engine: 25 HP Mercury
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 40
I used flexible electrical conduit. It is split along the length so you don't have to thread the cables through it. I used a cable tie every 16" or so to keep it all together.
__________________
Dan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 November 2015, 16:28   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: dornoch
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 28
sunsport

i use spiral wrap as this can also be wrapped onto the tube top grab handles ,i use 9 inch long lengths with 12 inch gaps between as it is advisable to let the control cables to have a bit off free play,can get this online or ebay i have used the 19mm size as it is thicker and stronger. also no need to pull cables through a pipe.wouldnt use tie wraps as i have seen some bad cuts with sharp cut off tails.cheers
__________________
sunsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 November 2015, 10:32   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Silverton, Oregon
Make: Bombard Commando C4
Length: 4m +
Engine: 25 HP Mercury
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunsport View Post
i use spiral wrap as this can also be wrapped onto the tube top grab handles ,i use 9 inch long lengths with 12 inch gaps between as it is advisable to let the control cables to have a bit off free play,can get this online or ebay i have used the 19mm size as it is thicker and stronger. also no need to pull cables through a pipe.wouldnt use tie wraps as i have seen some bad cuts with sharp cut off tails.cheers
I should add that I do cut off the tails flush with the locking block so that no sharp piece sticks out. I will look into those spiral wrap things as well, seems like a good solution.
__________________
Dan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 November 2015, 13:35   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,573
I use a hot knife on tie wraps flat to the block.spiral wrap is ok but if your treading on it there's a possibility of it parting not fully protecting cables etc the stuff I use is spirally wrapped which makes it really strong.
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2015, 17:58   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fulham
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 25HP
MMSI: 235914577
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 201
Steering wheel on Aerotec 380 sounds exciting
__________________
Firstrib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 November 2015, 17:32   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firstrib View Post
Steering wheel on Aerotec 380 sounds exciting
You have enough issues just getting it in a car with size of engine you are thinking off, adding steering is going to add more kit and increase your set up time.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.