Old 17 July 2016, 12:29   #1

Town: TEIGNMOUTH
Boat name: Little Nelly
Make: Honwave T40
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki 25HP
Advice please- Honwave T40

Hi, as you may have seen I am new to RIBS/SIBS. I went to the local boat shop this weekend and explained what I am looking to do with the boat and my budget. I am looking for something big enough for maybe 4 adults, although it would normally be 2 adults and a couple of small dogs. I live in Teignmouth, Devon and we have quite a fierce current down here on the tides. I'll be using it for fishing and just coastal cruising to local bays. I suppose I would prefer a RIB, but it would be second hand at my budget and getting a decent engine would worry me.

My budget is £4k. For this I have been offered a brand new Honwave T40 with a new 20HP 4 stroke Honda engine and Extreme bunked trailer.

Is this a good combo, anyone have experience of these?

Advice please? Would this set up suit my needs?
Old 17 July 2016, 13:02   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
The T40 is a roomy, robust SIB (I've had the 3.5 version) at a great price.

Main downsides are the weight and fiddly setup procedure... but with a trailer those are not an issue.

BF20 Honda engine is quiet and easy on fuel. You could get a lighter 20hp at slightly less money if you went for the Suzuki DF20efi I have. But the weight is not an issue as you will have a trailer and I'd not argue with anyone that said they prefer the Honda engine reputation.

The only alternative I'd consider would be the 3.5 Honwave if you were 2+dogs most of the time... they are very roomy too.
Old 17 July 2016, 13:26   #3

Town: London
Make: Aerotec 3.8
Engine: Mercury T/S 15hp
I was going to suggest you look at Fenlander's experience with his new Suzuki and did you want to keep the boat on a trailer full time?