Old 23 June 2009, 21:28   #1

Town: Watford
Make: Zodiac
Length: under 3m
Advice on everything.

Hi All, I have just purchased a Zodiac 285FR and would like any info and advice on getting up and running on the rivers and coastline. I have yet to buy an outboard for it and would like some advice on what to go for. I plan to use the SIB with my partner and two young kids with days out on the rivers. Also I would like an outboard powerful enough to use around the coastline. I don't plan to take the kids out on the sea, I will be going out there with my brother and mates. So you can guess I would like something fast!!. Could anyone recommend a suitable and reliable motor for this.

I am totally new to all this and would like as much help and advice on everything if possible.

Are there any rules or regulations on launching a SIB on a river etc. Can they be launched anywhere there is public access.

Are there any boat jumbles or shows coming up soon where I might be able to pick up a good second hand outboard?.

Many thanks in advance, I hope someone can help me out, I'm gagging to get out on the water..
Old 23 June 2009, 22:14   #2

Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Length: 3m +
Engine: tohatsu