Old 02 February 2010, 11:49   #1

Town: Madrid-Almeria
Boat name: SEPIA
Make: honwave
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda BF20
Advice handling 46Kg engine

Hello everybody, this is my first post - though I have been reading this forum for a while.

I'm just new to boats, in fact mine is still "in the box".

I've just purchased a Honda BF20 Short shaft engine, 4-stroke. It did look like a good idea for my also new HonWave 4m. Aluminum floor, when I decided it ( I must say I read this forum a lot before that).

It's 46Kg (102 lb), manual start, no power tilt. That's the heaviest engine I thought was somehow portable. I also read a review on the Internet about portability for such weight, but decided to go on for it.

Now it's here and I must handle that weight.

I do not expect to make it travel a lot, as it will rest at home by the sea. I also purchased a Rooteq trolley which looks great.

But even though all of this, there is some time when you have to load the engine with your hands: from the box to the trolley, from my trolley to the car, from my car to the trolley, and whenever I get to the sea, from the trolley to the transom and back to the trolley...fortunatelly I will moore it at the beach during summertime, so I also purchased a lock - but that story will be in another post.

Before breaking my back or, what's worse, breaking the engine before having used it, I'm looking for some advice to handle that weight. I mean:
- way to handle, place to hold?
- 2 people?
- harness?

I also accept lol and flying cakes.
Old 02 February 2010, 12:27   #2

Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Firstly, welcome to ribnet!