Old 05 February 2010, 17:02   #1

Town: Plymouth
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: 25hp 2s Mariner 2003
A few questions from a newbie!

Hi there.

Im new to RIBnet.

I recently bought a quicksiver 430 hd xs and mariner 25hp stroke 2003 model. Just want to know if the outboard has any type of thermostatic control on the cooling system? I started the engine with muffs before I purchased it and the water would only 'spit' out of the tell tale. I did notice however half way down the leg there is another tell tale and the water was coming out of there a treat. It was a particularly cold day (3 degrees c). I found that if I put my finger over the lower hole water would come out of the top tell tale. I’ve had outboard before but they’ve always been older and water used to pump straight away.

And finally, I’m going to be storing my inflatable on a trailer on my drive. Just wondering what security measures I can take to prevent anyone stealing the boat. I’m going to get a wheel clamp but was trying to think of a way to stop anyone nicking the boat its self. If somebody wants it, they’ll take it. I think its all about the deterrent.

Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks,

Samz9090
Old 05 February 2010, 17:44   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samz9090 View Post
Im new to RIBnet.
welcome.
Quote: