Old 15 April 2013, 18:23   #1

2.6 SIB - Cornwall... Help =]

Hi all, I would like to start by stating I am very new to this world (about 2 months in) and only found this forum today!

Ive always fancied a boat for local riverways etc, so I saw a cracking begginers deal from an outlet and invested in an Wetline Eco 260. I have a 4hp Evinrude twin cylinder outboard for it.

I have done quite a few trips now along the local river where there is no licence required etc, and thoroughly loving it! Comfortable with launching from the side of banks etc where required and controlling the boat nicely.

I am off to Cornwall in a few weeks time for a weeks break, staying around the Falmouth area, and would love to take the boat down there too!

I have been looking at the Carrick Roads & Helford River as sections near to Falmouth that could be a great explore...

My question is, does anyone know if what I have (boat and engine) would be suitable for this? A mate who has been an avid small boater for years now says mine should be more than capable of popping off around the headland (not far out to see) into places like Maenporth etc, but to be honest Im a bit wary of that due to how it wont even plane with 2 people in it...

So really, is this a good idea? Or should I keep my SIB? at home and stick to local puddles?

If it is a good idea, does anyone have any great ideas for places I can park the car up and launch for a day out?

Thanks for accepting me in advance! I would like to point out I do intend on investing in bigger Sibs / Ribs as soon as funds allow, but that wont be for a while yet. Need to get the g/f confident in my little'un first!
Old 15 April 2013, 19:09   #2
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
Welcome to Ribnet

Your mate is a dangerous pratt.You sound far more sensible than he is.