Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 July 2016, 14:11   #31
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Istanbul
Make: MKIII Zodiac GR 1986
Length: 4m +
Engine: Johnson 30hp 2/s
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bodge View Post
Transom support.
İs it right fixing the floors with the transom, did you had any problems with this kind of transom fixing
__________________

__________________
berat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2016, 18:18   #32
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Vancouver Island
Boat name: Umm....boat. :)
Make: Zodiac GR MKII
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 25 HP
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by berat View Post
İs it right fixing the floors with the transom, did you had any problems with this kind of transom fixing
No problems fixing the transom to the floor. Just plan ahead on what you will be doing and go slow and steady. It seems to have worked out really well and I have no fear bolting my engine on there. Use quality materials and you will be fine.

Also, I can unbolt the supports if i need to.

Are you planning on doing the same kind of changes?
__________________

__________________
Bodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 July 2016, 05:38   #33
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Istanbul
Make: MKIII Zodiac GR 1986
Length: 4m +
Engine: Johnson 30hp 2/s
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 25
I had a chain support at the connection point of the first and the second floor in my old sib 3.80mt Norisbot. I'll post if can find photos.
I'm not familiar about the soft bottom inflatable dynamics. But it seems to me a good idea to assist to lift the first 2 floor with this kind of transom support.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150828_155754.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	116.4 KB
ID:	114416   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150828_155826.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	121.5 KB
ID:	114417  
__________________
berat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 July 2016, 16:01   #34
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Vancouver Island
Boat name: Umm....boat. :)
Make: Zodiac GR MKII
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 25 HP
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by berat View Post
I had a chain support at the connection point of the first and the second floor in my old sib 3.80mt Norisbot. I'll post if can find photos.
I'm not familiar about the soft bottom inflatable dynamics. But it seems to me a good idea to assist to lift the first 2 floor with this kind of transom support.
I'm sure a chain or straps would work as well. I did it because of the age of the boat, perhaps it was not needed but I feel better that it's there.
__________________
Bodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 July 2016, 11:33   #35
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Istanbul
Make: MKIII Zodiac GR 1986
Length: 4m +
Engine: Johnson 30hp 2/s
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 25
I m planning to do the similar with yours, may be with some bounded aluminium profile. The first two panels are flexing and streching, thats too much disturbing me
__________________
berat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 July 2016, 22:10   #36
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Vancouver Island
Boat name: Umm....boat. :)
Make: Zodiac GR MKII
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 25 HP
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by berat View Post
I m planning to do the similar with yours, may be with some bounded aluminium profile. The first two panels are flexing and streching, thats too much disturbing me

There is a definite difference and I'm happy with the whole setup. I can air down the boat considerably when messing around and the motor stands vertical. Aluminum would be nice but I just used what I had at hand.
At present I have a 25hp hanging off the back but am looking for a 50 hp 2 stroke to replace it so I think the braces will serve me well in the near future.
__________________
Bodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2016, 14:04   #37
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Vancouver Island
Boat name: Umm....boat. :)
Make: Zodiac GR MKII
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 25 HP
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 80
I believe I am laying down to much glue when bonding...

Can I thin the glue? I am using a natural bristle brush cut down to about 3/4 inch. Would a shorter nap on the brush be helpful?
__________________
Bodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2016, 14:16   #38
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: S. Carolina
Boat name: D560
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2016 Merc 115hp CT
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bodge View Post
I believe I am laying down to much glue when bonding...

Can I thin the glue? I am using a natural bristle brush cut down to about 3/4 inch. Would a shorter nap on the brush be helpful?
Thinning will weaken the bond.

Best tip for gluing: Try not to pass over the same area twice.

After all areas have had glue touch them, STOP MESSING WITH IT. Don't come back and go "oh, touch up here...touch up there".
__________________
Richard
Gluing geek since 2007
office888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2016, 14:35   #39
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Vancouver Island
Boat name: Umm....boat. :)
Make: Zodiac GR MKII
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 25 HP
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by office888 View Post
Thinning will weaken the bond.

Best tip for gluing: Try not to pass over the same area twice.

After all areas have had glue touch them, STOP MESSING WITH IT. Don't come back and go "oh, touch up here...touch up there".
Thanks Richard.

I'm afraid I mess with it...

What length of nap is appropriate for my brush?
__________________
Bodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2016, 14:45   #40
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: S. Carolina
Boat name: D560
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2016 Merc 115hp CT
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bodge View Post
Thanks Richard.

I'm afraid I mess with it...

What length of nap is appropriate for my brush?
3/4" length is about right.

I dip my 2" wide natural bristle brush, scrape both sides of the brush off on the slip of my pyrex lab beaker that I use for gluing (reusable, glue doesn't stick to glass), and that's the amount of glue I carry over to the substrate. I immediately spread it thin.

That's enough glue for about 5 square inches of coverage.

I spread it as long as the brush moves smoothly...once the brush starts to "chatter" against the surface, I dip my brush for more glue.

I use Zodiac Z7098 glue. Polymarine / Bostik 2402 don't spread as easily.

This is all very tough stuff to describe. Hopefully you can make sense of what I'm saying.

Avoid blobs of glue. Blobs are very bad.
__________________

__________________
Richard
Gluing geek since 2007
office888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.