Old 19 May 2019, 02:35   #1

Town: Sacramento
Boat name: no name
Make: Hydro Force
Length: 3m +
Engine: 45lbtroll/5hp Lehr
10'8" SIB with 5hp Lehr

I'm new to the boat world(and here)and have a few questions concerning motor height and size. I took the SIB and motor out for it's maiden voyage and was a little surprised with the amount of turbulence the motor was making and I'm not sure what the correct flow should look like. I realize that the boat is light weight and the motor may/may not be the wrong HP even though the specs say 15hp max. After doing some reading, it seems that prop size and pitch make a difference, too. The prop is a 7 1/2" X 7". Could this be causing some of the turbulence? Also. is their a rule of thumb for how much the prop should in the water... such as location from cavitation plate to the bottom of the transom. I believe mine too low in the water. If so, I need to raise the transom and are their recommendations to make or buy hardware for raising it?

BTW, the boat is a hydro-force(from Costco)rigid aluminum floor with inflatable keel

Thanks, Brian
Old 19 May 2019, 05:46   #2

Town: Ipswich
Boat name: Click and Collect
Make: Valiant and Narwhal
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard
First of measure the height of the transom on the back of the boat.... Ie from the top where the motor mounts to the bottom at the centre. If this is about 15 inches you need a standard (also called short) shaft engine. This should measure somewhere between 15 - 17 inches from the top of the transom (with the motor on the boat and dropped fully down so the top of the mounting bracket rests on the top of the transom to the cavitation plate which is the plate just above the propeller.

Then put the motor in trim position 1 or 2 ie trimmed in most of the way.

If you set up like this it should be good to go.

Perhaps you could post some pics of how yours is mounted at the moment
Old 20 May 2019, 14:56   #3

Town: kansas city
Post pictures of your set up.