Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 21 October 2011, 03:44   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
Nauti Buoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wittering
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,447
Tacho for a Discovery 2 TD5

Hi,

I need to get a Tacho fitted to my Discovery 2 TD5, 2004 (54) has anyone had one fitted or know of somewhere localish to Southampton that could fit one. Have phone a couple of installers and they are saying this is not possible which I find a little hard to believe.

Thank you,

Richard
__________________
richard@kidzrides.co.uk
Mobile: 07885 487777
Nauti Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2011, 05:27   #2
Member
 
m chappelow's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Length: 3m +
Engine: tohatsu
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,310
Paul Barton Tachographs LTD - Tachograph and Road Speed Limiter Specialists

i know its not in your area but it is possible.
__________________

__________________
m chappelow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2011, 07:49   #3
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
seen an older style round one in a centre console on a disco
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2011, 11:15   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Nauti Buoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wittering
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by m chappelow View Post
Hi, great thank you, called them today, were very helpful, will have to be an anologue tacho. Just going to see if there is someone more local, if not I shall venture up to them.
__________________
richard@kidzrides.co.uk
Mobile: 07885 487777
Nauti Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2011, 14:37   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Richard, can we ask more about Tacho, I guess you need one for boat towing??

I spoke with another operator recently and he had worked through levels needed, if you own the boats, do you need a tacho? Sorry bit of a thread hijack
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2011, 11:35   #6
Member
 
williamhorace336's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 55
Why not keep a manual record and save on costs?

That's the acceptable alternative to VOSA if your taco was to break.

Local police authority should recognise this too.
__________________
williamhorace336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2011, 14:49   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Nauti Buoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wittering
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,447
Hi, yes looking at getting a tacho fitted as doing more towing work so need to have one fitted as its commercial towing for hire reward.

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________
richard@kidzrides.co.uk
Mobile: 07885 487777
Nauti Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2011, 15:23   #8
Member
 
m chappelow's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Length: 3m +
Engine: tohatsu
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamhorace336 View Post
Why not keep a manual record and save on costs?

That's the acceptable alternative to VOSA if your taco was to break.

Local police authority should recognise this too.
Thats only as a tempory mesure as you say if the taco fails ,and he would still have to have a taco fitted in the first place ,

I remember the pre taco days in the 70s when it was all log sheets ,,what a scam that was you could fill it in as you were driving . lol

first time tacos were introduced and change over period from logs ,
i was stopped with a truck and large Yacht just outside Bridlington in a layby the coppers had never seen one before they even called their mates to come and have a look like it was something from outer space . best part i had to show them how to read it .
__________________
m chappelow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 October 2011, 05:24   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hull, East Yorkshire
Boat name: Hull Uni One
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: OB, Petrol, 140HP
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by C2 RIBS View Post
Richard, can we ask more about Tacho, I guess you need one for boat towing??

I spoke with another operator recently and he had worked through levels needed, if you own the boats, do you need a tacho? Sorry bit of a thread hijack
As a rule of thumb, if your combination is over 3.5t and you're towing commercially (i.e for hire or reward) then you need a tacho. There are certain exceptions but owning the boat isn't one of them.
__________________

__________________
Dry_Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.