Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Trailers & towing
Click Here to Login

Old 22 January 2005, 06:15   #1

Length: 6m +
Roller trailer launching - Tips?

Just bought a new roller trailer for 6.5m RIB. First launch. Any tips for a novice?
eg. As it's a roller trailer with swinging rollers is it necessary to keep it attached to towing vehicle when launching to stop it tipping up when the boat is nearly off the trailer, or can the trailer be run down the slip on a piece of rope secured to the tow-ball if gradient shallow? Anyone got time to talk me through it?!!
Old 22 January 2005, 08:44   #2

Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
Carlo,

Im pretty new to all this too but had the pleasure of launching with DJL from here a few months ago and learnt a lot!

Backed the trailer down the ramp still connected to the car. Went so the back wheels of my car were just shy of the waterline. Undid the winch and safety rope, lifted the bows up and pushed back into the water. It was soo simple i couldnt believe it!

Previously i had struggled by not lifting the bow (Stupid i know but nevermind) Recovering was very simple too, bows onto the back of the trailer, little burst of revs, (Making sure you have an idea whats under the prop) then attach the winch line and pul it up the trailer.

I have not launched from a rope yet but i cant see why it should be any different?

Zippy
Old 22 January 2005, 09:43   #3

Town: Cowes
Boat name: Tabby Cat
Make: Halmatic
Length: 7m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlo
Just bought a new roller trailer for 6.5m RIB. First launch. Any tips for a novice?