Old 14 September 2010, 08:33   #1

Town: Bristol, UK
Boat name: Wannabe ;-)
Length: no boat
Limited garage space - can I shorten draw bar / best trailers to use ?

Hello all,

Have been lurking for a week or so, reading and learning, and am looking at a few ribs on ebay at the moment, and anywhere else I can find them for sale, and now registered and this is my first post. Apologies if I am repeating stuff already asked, but I've not come across the answer yet.

I am new to this, and looking at a relatively inexpensive set up to start with and try it out. (I will be doing RYA PB2 if it all comes together). My ideas for use are occasional short handed dive trips (2 or 3 in the boat, inc one non diver - doing my SDI Solo Diver course soon, and I don't want to start the 'solo v buddy system' debate on here too....), taking my 8 year old out to look for marine life, and solo mid life crisis playtime on the choppy stuff

My garage space is a shade over 5m long and 2.1 m wide doorway, so I am thinking that a 4m Searider looks like as good a start point as any

With trailer and outboard fitted though it seems very tight as to whether I can fit one in.

Are there any particular trailers to look out for please ?

Another thought I had was whether I couldn't just cut the draw bar, and sleeve it with a long bolt on collar made from slightly larger box section - say 4 bolts total - so that I can undo 2 bolts and take off the front section, shortening the whole thing so that it fits ?

Is there any advantage while towing or launching / recovering in having a longer draw bar ? Or should I just be hunting out a set up which has a trailer which is compact and will fit inside the garage ? Do I need to be aware of any problems with having the boat too close to the car (reversing much more difficult for example ?)