Old 12 October 2008, 03:18   #1
V2d

Town: Anchorage
Boat name: Noname
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: outboard
US Navy 7M Ribs

Anyone have any experience with the Willard 7M RIBS? I am considering getting one. I know there is work involved but as a mechanic, I have no worries.
Old 13 October 2008, 04:31   #2

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
No experience with them, nor have I ever heard of any other owners.

Quite a bit of info on their website, though:

http://www.willardmarine.com/

jky
Old 16 October 2008, 03:05   #3

Town: Palm City, FL
Boat name: Mick 1, McRIB
Make: Willard
Length: 7m +
Engine: Diesel Stern Drives
I have no direct experience with any of those Willard RIBS but I have always been intrigued. I have bid on a few, but they always exceed my limit. The last time GSA had them on auction one boat never sold because it did not meet the minimum reserve set by GSA. The others sold for around $8K to $14K. From what I am told by people who operated them for the Navy they are good boats, although under powered for anything but harbor use. That Cummins diesel is around 165hp. It is similar to the model installed in the Dodge trucks. The age of the tubes are an issue. Repair and refurbishment of the existing tubes will be a challenge. Better plan on new tubes. The hull should be sound if supported correctly on the ship. I would definitely look at the boat before I bid on one. Better yet have a surveyor look at it.
MASATS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2008, 03:33   #4

Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Contact Sunrider, a member of this forum and in the US. he has rebuilt at least 3.
Old 16 October 2008, 03:47   #5

Town: Fairfield
Boat name: Sunrider
Make: Zodiac
Length: 7.3
Engine: MerCruiser (bio)diesel 180hp I/O