Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBnet North America
Click Here to Login

Old 21 September 2016, 11:56   #1

Newbie Here, Are Lifeproof Boats OK For Leisure?

I'm really hoping to be in the market within a year or two. I fell in love with Life Proof Boats, and through some research and first hand account with someone who worked with the Company in reassured of the quality and workmanship of their products. However, I was told I would not enjoy the boat "taking the wife and kids out". Is this true? I understand the finishes aren't as "nice" on the outside appearance as some luxury boats, but I don't understand why some would think that.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. I live on the Texas Gulf Coast, and I really want a rib boat for light fishing, general leisure, general sport riding, and light off-shore capabilities.
Old 21 September 2016, 12:23   #2

Town: S. Carolina
Boat name: D560
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2016 Merc 115hp CT
I would go talk to Triad Marine. They're the dominant force for RIBs in Texas.
office888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2016, 12:46   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by office888 View Post
I would go talk to Triad Marine. They're the dominant force for RIBs in Texas.
Yeah I've been lookin at their site and they aren't too far from me but I'm not ready to actually visit any dealers. There is still so much I don't know, I've never owned a boat, etc. I'm just starting all my research and I fell in love with the rib Boats with a cabin
Old 21 September 2016, 12:59   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannaberib View Post
Yeah I've been lookin at their site and they aren't too far from me but I'm not ready to actually visit any dealers. There is still so much I don't know, I've never owned a boat, etc. I'm just starting all my research and I fell in love with the rib Boats with a cabin
You mean a pilothouse? You doom yourself to requiring air conditioning all the time and you'd lose the mobility requirements for fishing.