Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 September 2015, 18:28   #1
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: CA
Make: Zodiac RIB-P
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 250
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,122
I need a less effective anchor

Well fishing with my boys today today I lost my second anchor. It got locked up hard and I spent enough time trying to work it free that the rope gave way. I have it in GPS, 40' of water I'll have to go dive for it.

So I need and anchor for fishing. Just a little something to hold me still that won't get jammed in the rocks.

Any suggestions?

Jason
__________________

__________________
Bigtalljv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2015, 18:37   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
Just outta wading depth, eh?

What sort of anchor did you lose and what sort of ground did you lose it on?

Edit: Did you have any sort of trip or release rigged on it?
__________________

__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2015, 19:27   #3
zip
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Pacific Beach
Boat name: Dash II
Make: Willard
Length: 7m +
Engine: Cummins
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 565
Standard used Danforth cheapo Craigslist special?
__________________
zip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2015, 19:42   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: CA
Make: Zodiac RIB-P
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 250
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,122
I need a less effective anchor

It was a 14lbs delta and 25' of chain in rocky reef. No it wasn't rigged to trip. I leave the boat alone when we dive and the thought of relying on a zip tie for that doesn't sit well with me.

Fishing rod and reel is new for me so still working out the details. Maybe a much smaller anchor rigged to trip.

If I had my fins and mask I might have barebacked it to try and free it. I'm want to scuba it so I can see what the heck happened.

Jason
__________________
Bigtalljv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2015, 20:11   #5
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 627
If your anchors are getting snagged then you are either on reef (structure) or getting hooked up on cables. Out here millions of boat owners use use a cheap and simple grapple reef anchor with chain and rope, the gauge of the bars depends on the size of the boat (you need to be able to bend them if they get stuck) Reef Anchor | eBay

Danforths can also be used in a snag free way by attaching the chain to the back of the anchor rather than the front. The front hole of the anchor can hold the chain via a strong cable tie which if the anchor becomes stuck driving the boat with the anchor tied to the front of the boat will break the tie and the anchor can the be retrieved backwards. This can be done with most anchors. I mainly use the graple type only as I fish and dive reef.
Jon (sorry about my crude drawing)

__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2015, 20:29   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: CA
Make: Zodiac RIB-P
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 250
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,122
Oh it's all reef, California rock. I'm familiar with the break away setup and choose not to do it for diving with my main anchor as the boat is generally unattended.

I think the moral of the story here is that with the same boat the equipment needs are different for fishing. Just wish it hadn't cost me $200 to realize that.

Jason
__________________
Bigtalljv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2015, 00:08   #7
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigtalljv View Post
It was a 14lbs delta and 25' of chain in rocky reef. No it wasn't rigged to trip. I leave the boat alone when we dive and the thought of relying on a zip tie for that doesn't sit well with me.
On my spare (which a weird one-off Bruce type copy), I have the chain attached to the trip point with a quick link or shackle (don't remember now), and the secured to the shaft and eye with three of these

Assuming you have enough chain (which it sounds like you do), the pull will be linear to the shank of the anchor, and it will take motor power to break the larger zip ties (I'm not as burly as you are.). I'd have no qualms about diving with the setup (and indeed, have, on occasion.)

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2015, 00:40   #8
Member
 
capntroy's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Town: Orange County, CA
Boat name: Northwind
Make: Northwind
Length: 10m +
Engine: Twin Yamaha 350's
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 154
I use mostly bruce-style anchors around SoCal and haven't lost one yet, but if there's any doubts, I rig a tagline with float to a shackle on the tail end of the anchor, that way, if the anchor gets jammed, I can cleat the tagline off and pull the anchor out backwards...works like a charm!
__________________
capntroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2015, 02:37   #9
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,267
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by capntroy View Post
I use mostly bruce-style anchors around SoCal and haven't lost one yet, but if there's any doubts, I rig a tagline with float to a shackle on the tail end of the anchor, that way, if the anchor gets jammed, I can cleat the tagline off and pull the anchor out backwards...works like a charm!
Great idea.
__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2015, 07:23   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 225
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigtalljv View Post
choose not to do it for diving with my main anchor as the boat is generally unattended.
maybe a daft question but if your diving, why don't you just pop back down and manually free it, or check it before surfacing?

If your fishing, buoy the line and pop back with a cylinder and collect the anchor later, must be cheaper than buying a new one?
__________________

__________________
Starovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.