Old 16 March 2011, 15:47   #1

Length: 7m +
Hurricane Project (newbie)

Moved this from another forum upon suggestion, apologies for the double post.

Hi guys, I just got my hands on an old Hurricane 640 (ex coast guard boat). The inboard is gone, the tubes are okay (need to replace a valve) and sitting on an awesome trailer. I picked this up for next to nothing and plan on making it my project boat over the spring / summer. I saw a few other people posting on here about doing similar projects and I'm looking for advice / suggestions on how to go about fitting an outboard on this thing and anything else I should do. I'm an experienced boater (I'm a sailing coach) and can't wait to get this thing rolling, but admittedly know very little about doing a project like this, so any help / guidance would be GREATLY appreciated.

Right now the boat has no inboard (trim tabs still there, as well as power steering... not sure if that can be reused), still a hole in the stern where it was, needs the usual nip and tuck on the seats / etc. I'm thinking a single outboard (for cost reasons more then anything).

So, any tips? Be gentle ;-)
Old 16 March 2011, 16:22   #2

Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Repost!

Welcome!

I don't know much about those particular hulls, but ref your engine comment, if you are buying secondhand, you may find the price difference is not as much as you think - the bigger problem with seconhand twins may be finding a matched pair!

I guess at approx 6.5m you will be looking at twin 70s or 90s Both quite popular sizes, so maybe easier to source?
Old 16 March 2011, 16:28   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
Repost!

Welcome!

I don't know much about those particular hulls, but ref your engine comment, if you are buying secondhand, you may find the price difference is not as much as you think - the bigger problem with seconhand twins may be finding a matched pair!