Old 17 July 2012, 23:18   #1

Town: San Francisco
Boat name: Kick Ass
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 2006 Merc 40 4s
Help with an old 1987 Zodiac RIB

I'm new to the RIB thing and have always wanted one. I picked up a 1987 Zodiac rib with tubes that need a lot of help and a motor that may be too big. The fiberglass is in top notch shape all around.

These are the numbers from the hull tag - some numbers are corroded quite a bit. It was made in Canada.
Can anyone tell me what model this might be?
Type: 3619, 3819, or 3919?
Weight: 130 kg
Total Weight: 287 pound
Weight capacity: 600 kg
Max hp: 50
Serial no. xdc p40?1 h787

First off, is the motor too big for the boat? It's a mid-1980's Mercury 3 cylinder 70 HP. the hull reads max 50 HP, but is that because of weight or power restraints?

Secondly, I'm preparing to start getting the tubes sealed and refurbished. I want make sure I go about his in the right way. There's a medium-sized patch that is failing and the cones at the aft end of the tubes have many little pinholes. someone tried to repair it by coating the cones with some thing like the truck bed material (like rhino lining).

I plan on:
1) removing the tubes (already done)
2) removing bad patches and repatching inside and out
3) sealing the tubes with Inland Marine Sealant
4) Sanding off the bad job of painting it with some kind of rubberized paint
4) Refixing the seam tapes with 3m 5200 (the old glue is going to be hell to remove it, therefore the 5200)
5) Applying a coat of Inland Marine rubber paint in spots that need it
6) Paint it with a coat of Inland Marine Top coat

I'm not sure about how to reaffix the tubes to the transom though.

I'm also inquiring at a dealer to see what new tubes will cost. But there's got to be some company out there making aftermarket tubes, isn't there? Anyone have a good source? I'm in the San Francisco Bay Area, California.

Thanks for any input or thoughts!
Old 18 July 2012, 02:44   #2

Town: Leesburg
Engine: Outboard 40