Old 21 May 2013, 21:46   #1

Town: Portland
Boat name: Tilikum
Make: Zodiac FC-470
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DT-40
Fuel consumption and tank size questions

I recently purchased a Zodiac FC-470 and I am new to boats. In general terms, what kind of fuel consumption can I expect from a 2-stroke versus a 4-stroke? Also what tank size in usually recommended? I am trying to decide between a 6 gallon tank and an 18 gallon tank and i would like to know advantages and disadvantages of each.

Old 22 May 2013, 03:46   #2
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
RIBase
There's a lot of variables there.

What size motor? What AGE motor?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 May 2013, 09:02   #3

Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Other thing to be very aware of when reading replies - Nautical vs Statute miles and UK vs US Gallons. (At least Litres & KM are such a different name it's obvious the numbers are different!)

To expand on Nos' question -

2/4 stroke is one thing, but how you use the engine will give a much varied consumption for any pair of engines you might be comparing.

For example - if you blast out for 10 mins, drop an anchor and spend the day fishing, you'll use next to nothing. and you could use a 1958 engine with planet destroying emmissions and still see no perceptible difference in consumption.

Next stage - you blast out to your favourte bay & start trolling. That is where the difference between 2 & 4 stroke will be most obvious. Old engines throw way too much fuel in at low RPM - it;s the nature of the beast. (Also don't forget that new DI 2- strokes are up there with the 4- strokes in the consumption world at low RPM)