Old 20 November 2007, 05:30   #1

Length: 3m +
BEST RIB UNDER 600lbs W/MOTOR?

hello all! newbie here ,and seeking your sage advice...I am a live aboard boater here in Sidney,B.C,and am wanting to put the best toughest and driest RIB up on my boat deck.The criteria so far are: aluminum hull,as much beam as possible and up to 13,maybe 14 feet,oh,and as much power as possible.I am looking at an AB/AL 13,and also maybe a Polaris12'6'',cause it appears to have 6 inches more beam,but I am not familiar with the brand.Also,center console?or tiller?Maximum total weight should be under 600 pounds,as this is about all my lifting arm will handle.

This boat has to do it all for me,essentially it's my SUV,and I am having allot of trouble coming up with the ideal set up.

I really appreciate your advice!
Old 20 November 2007, 10:15   #2
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
You're asking a lot for that weight! It's only 272kg.

I'd do without the ally hull and buy a 4m Avon Searider. Just the boat alone is 159kg though-so by the time you've added an engine and fuel you're close to or on your weight limit already

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 November 2007, 16:46   #3

Town: Oakland CA
You're right across the sound from Polaris. You should call or drop by and talk to Guy. Your requirements sound a bit on the hopeful side, but maybe he can help you out there.

Polaris Inflatable Boats (Canada) Ltd.
20583 Langley Bypass, Unit 101
Langley B.C. Canada V3A 5E8

Telephone: (604) 534-5585 Fax: (604) 534-2329

Luck;

jky
Old 20 November 2007, 17:03   #4

Town: Richmond, B.C.
Boat name: ZAP
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 70 HP Tohatsu