Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 22 February 2008, 09:23   #1
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Vancouver
Boat name: White Chocolate
Make: AB
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 HP, 3.3 HP Merc
MMSI: 338079539
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to PacificNWrib
Aux outboard issues

I guess I need some wisdom from the forum. I have installed a 4 HP Mariner as a aux motor for my rib, but I have an issue with the tiller arm.

Any suggestions on fixing the problem? Or should I trade the 4 HP for a 2 HP Honda that has the throttle controls on the front. Then I wouldn't need the arm.

Thoughts and suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Aux Motor small 2.jpg
Views:	528
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	33025   Click image for larger version

Name:	Aux Motor small 3.jpg
Views:	420
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	33026   Click image for larger version

Name:	Honda2hpfourstroke.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	254.8 KB
ID:	33027  
__________________

__________________
www.nwribs.blogspot.com

US COAST GUARD AUX
Flotilla 130-07-08
PacificNWrib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 February 2008, 11:16   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
If I'm interpreting these pics correctly and you're steering it from the main steering gear, why not remove it, and replace it with a simple "lawnmower / Seagull" type throttle lever mounted on the connecting rod?
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 February 2008, 13:44   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,261
It's quite easy to remove the tiller arm. I'm sure you could work out a way of controlling it with the tiller arm removed by maybe adding a little lever or something. I saw an Arctic 22 once which had a 15hp aux which was coupled to the steering in the same way yours is. They had also connected it to a remote throttle which was mounted next to the main one in the same you would have two throttles for twin engines. Seemed like a very elaborate system.
__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 February 2008, 14:50   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Vancouver
Boat name: White Chocolate
Make: AB
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 HP, 3.3 HP Merc
MMSI: 338079539
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to PacificNWrib
I should explain the issue more clearly. The tiller arm pinches with the main motor when I turn starboard. But if it were removed then I would have ample turning radius.

The only thing is controlling the throttle with it removed. I know them Yamaha models have a lever up front for the throttle. Can that be done on this motor?
__________________
www.nwribs.blogspot.com

US COAST GUARD AUX
Flotilla 130-07-08
PacificNWrib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 February 2008, 14:53   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,261
Probably, if your good at modifying things. When you twist the throttle it pulls on a cable similar to the throttle cable on your main engine going to the control box on the console. I'm sure you could work out a way of controlling this using a small home-made lever.
__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 February 2008, 00:09   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Vancouver
Boat name: White Chocolate
Make: AB
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 HP, 3.3 HP Merc
MMSI: 338079539
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to PacificNWrib
I wonder if I should skip the trouble and just go with the 2 HP. But would it be enough to troll with.
__________________
www.nwribs.blogspot.com

US COAST GUARD AUX
Flotilla 130-07-08
PacificNWrib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 February 2008, 14:55   #7
Member
 
samt's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: RNLI Y-Class
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15hp 2st
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 850
RIBase
Get hold of a remote conversion kit, (you just need the throttle parts). This allows you to control the throttle with a lever on the side of the outboard. Then you can remove the tiller.

I left the tiller on mine (see pic below) as its used on various boats. You don't need the black bracket to hold the remote cables either.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OUTBOARD.jpg
Views:	252
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	33139  
__________________
samt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 February 2008, 23:25   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Vancouver
Boat name: White Chocolate
Make: AB
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 HP, 3.3 HP Merc
MMSI: 338079539
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to PacificNWrib
SamT,

Thanks for the info. Can you take more photos of the front of that motor? I wished I had seen that earlier. I swapped my 4 HP for a 2HP Honda. But if it turns out that it is not enough, I will go back to the 4 HP.

John
__________________
www.nwribs.blogspot.com

US COAST GUARD AUX
Flotilla 130-07-08
PacificNWrib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 February 2008, 07:46   #9
Member
 
samt's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: RNLI Y-Class
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15hp 2st
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 850
RIBase
Hi John,

I'm at uni at the moment, and the outboards 200miles away so can't the picture your after, but I've found another on my computer, hope it helps.

I think you'll find the honda to be ok, but the 4hp would have perfect! That tohatsu would just plane my 4m RIB on flat water. That was before the boat was fitted out though, it wouldn't manage it now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	outboards 002.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	230.0 KB
ID:	33149   Click image for larger version

Name:	outboards 003.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	193.1 KB
ID:	33150  
__________________
samt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2008, 15:39   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Why bother with any of it. Looks far to complicated and fiddly, I have a 4HP aux on Danny Boy and just run it set straight then use the main outboard as a rudder, its very effective.

As for the throttle I leave it set at 3/4 to full and leave it until I need to slow down which seeing as I am only doing 4 knots max its fairly straight forward to walk back down the boat and turn it off
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.